Poets logo

Mile Markers

And a poem on avoiding toxic people

By Silver Serpent BooksPublished 12 days ago 1 min read
7

I fell in love with you between the mile markers.

Hope and dreams blared on the radio,

Air filled my tires,

And the lovely sound of my car galloping across the highway

Thumped in my chest.

.

The states bled away.

College was a thought, zooming past like construction barrels,

Plastered in orange on black signs.

Turn around to forget,

Drive on to remember.

.

It was a poor choice.

I slid underneath the glass oasis,

Shot like a flaming area past the rest stop,

And galloped alongside the fields

Toward black forests and shadowed dreams.

.

Fireworks exploded over my destination

Or maybe it was gunfire warning me away

But I missed the signs and crossed the threshold anyway.

Oblivious to the renegade heart in my heart

Betraying its allegiance to my sanity.

.

The car ride home was silent.

Rain crouched on the horizon ahead

But lightning had already scorched my insides,

Turning the flowers in my chest to a pretty pile of ash

That would never bloom again.

.

The mile markers flashed.

Thunder rumbled the wheel in my hand as the cars sat still.

Maybe I should have known that a man who fell asleep

To the dulcet sounds of violent TV shows would dream

Of ripping me apart.

.

sad poetrylove poems
7

About the Creator

Silver Serpent Books

Writer. Interested in all the rocks people have forgotten to turn over. There are whole worlds under there, you know. Dark ones too, even better.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • ROCK 10 days ago

    You are one hell of a writer! Brilliant and painfully poignant.

  • D.K. Shepard11 days ago

    That first line was a master stroke and it maintained powerful momentum to the end! Great writing, Silver!

  • Alexander McEvoy12 days ago

    "Oblivious to the renegade heart in my heart Betraying its allegiance to my sanity." This line REALLY spoke to me! The renegade heart in my heart, oh my how well that addresses my lived experience. Everything from regular behaviour to who I fall for is a fight for control with that renegade heart. It doesn't know what's best for us, except when it does

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.