Poets logo

K.I.S.S.

keep it simple----

By MkatPublished 9 days ago 1 min read
K.I.S.S.
Photo by Anne Nygård on Unsplash

I told myself I wouldn't mess it up

No more fuck ups

No more mistakes

No more getting it wrong.

No more...

I would keep it simple--

Don't say it

"Stupid"

Duh

It really was that simple

The ego likes to complicate

Was I really the best one for the job?

I guess at one point

But that point has come and gone

Now I'm shot back to the 3d

Not just in the heart

But the guts too

Going from being chosen to being dumped

Because you didn't trust

Enough

So now what?

That was no regular journey

I can't undo it

I'm so lost

It was supposed to be magic

It was supposed to be heaven

Not this

Not hell

The worst part is that I chose this

Well the ego did

You know what they say

No guts no glory

Ego doesn't like that

Ego doesn't like change

It wants to stay small, secure

Alive is all it's after.

But now I'm here, going from square 99

Back to square 1.

or maybe even ground zero.

How do I get back on the saddle?

Where even is my horse?

Where is the road?

Where I am?

What am I?

Who am I?

sometimes I have to pinch myself to see if I am really alive

I gotta get back up

Somehow someway

I may find the way again

Until then

Farewell my friend

I wish I could erase the pain

And start all over again

Next time I would keep it simple,

Sweetie.

That's better.

sad poetry

About the Creator

Mkat

...on the spiritual path...

om

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    MWritten by Mkat

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.