Poets logo

Killing Me Softly

"Tormented by desire daily, if no one nor I can save me, then I wish for all desire to be taken from me. Such an extreme may be inhumane, but such an extreme will keep me sane."

By Josh MorganPublished 4 days ago 1 min read
Killing Me Softly
Photo by Aarzoo Jacob on Unsplash

desire, you're killing me, softly

am i too late for saving?

my fate depends on the killing of my cravings before they kill me

the feelings that only add to my evils

advice that only adds to my vices

thorns in my side are what my wants wish for me

too many veils have been torn for me to die blissfully

my sins are in rotation

they're killing me, softly

all that i lack

taunting my eyesight

foreshadowing the very day my heart may come under attack

by the day i wait for such a beautiful night

but my preference is done,

i'd rather be numb,

than have highs that find me flying to close to the sun

only to come back down burning,

because i was unable to yield to a yearning

i'd rather lack human like thirst

than to drown in desperation

the flow of this river is rushing me to a hurse

in longing for love i've gotten lost in the lust

sin's hunger may be for me, but tame it i must

what i once wanted i wish for no more

no more desire, please, no more-

oh desire, you're killing me, softly

tormented by you daily

if no one nor i can save me,

then i wish for all of you to be taken from me-

such an extreme may seem inhumane,

but such an extreme will keep me sane

Mental HealthStream of Consciousnesssad poetryperformance poetrylove poemsheartbreak

About the Creator

Josh Morgan

I began writing as a means of expressing creativity, relieving stress, and venting emotions. I mention my daily battle with mental health a lot, I hope it is relatable and inspiring to readers, as writing is something I'm passionate about.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Josh MorganWritten by Josh Morgan

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.