Poets logo

Undiagnosed (Life With ADHD)

'Undiagnosed' is a conversation, with one side venting and the other listening. The frustration from being "misunderstood" can leave someone thinking that they are a/the common denominator of a great number of relationship issues. Be it at work, with friends or with family. This conversation is meant to portray that frustration.

By Josh MorganPublished 4 days ago 2 min read
Undiagnosed (Life With ADHD)
Photo by John Moeses Bauan on Unsplash

"What's wrong with me?"

"Nothing, is wrong with you."

"There has to be something, there's always something... and how am I somehow ALWAYS the problem?"

"It's not you, believe me."

"Why don't they understand me? Why don't I understand me?!"

"It's not you that they don't understand, believe me... and learning is a big part of finding and being the true you."

"Then why am I the only one confused?"

"You're not, believe me."

"I feel like this is just some sick game I just can't get used to playing..."

"I hear what you're saying, and I can see how this is weighing on you."

""Are you even listening?" They're always saying... and that's just to name one thing."

"I can see how that down bringing if it's a recurring thing."

"Everyone's on the same page, and thinking the same thing but me..."

"What if you're just reading different books."

"Am really that different?"

"That's not what I meant..."

"You should see the looks they give me..."

"The "shame looks" I know, I've gotten them too."

"But you are YOU-nique, and your own proof"

"I know that's true, but that's not what they think..."

"It might not be, but it's what you are. So BE that fact, and truth. "Now is not the time to look at yourself from their point of view."

"But I can never do what I try to do.".

"A big part of being you, is learning you."

""You're always in the way!" They say"

"Try to follow your own way, and do what works for you."

"That's easy for you to say..."

"I know the public's expectations, and how much they weigh"

"It's not fair..."

"No, it's not... But that's not what I want you to look at."

"That's all that's around me, like there's just something in the air."

"I want you, to ALLOW YOU, to be yourself... even if that's not what it feels like around you"

"Yeah, it feels EXACTLY like that..."

"You feel like you're at a disadvantage, and unfair at that."

"But do you want to fit into a mold that's not cast for you?"

"No, I just want to be myself, without all the- *sigh* "

"The what?... Talk to me."

"Needing everything to be repeated, over and over..."

"Talk to me... I'm listening."

"Always feeling lost, always forgetting everything, the daydreaming..."

"Mmhm..."

"It's just one small distraction after another, but everyone thinks I'm tuning out on purpose."

"You're not."

"I know, but they don't... They think somethings wrong with me."

"Do you think that?"

"I'm starting to, there's just too much evidence."

"Do you really believe that?"

"Is hard not to..."

"I'm sorry you feel that, and I want to thank you for being willing to share with me."

" *sigh* "

"It sounds like you're really being challenged on being yourself."

"Yeah..."

"Is there anyone else you want to be?"

"Not really"

"Good. All you can be is you, just how all I can be is me."

"..."

"There's nothing wrong with you, believe me."

"Yeah..."

"Thanks for listening to me..."

Gratitudesocial commentaryMental Healthinspirationalhow toFriendshipFirst DraftFamily

About the Creator

Josh Morgan

I began writing as a means of expressing creativity, relieving stress, and venting emotions. I mention my daily battle with mental health a lot, I hope it is relatable and inspiring to readers, as writing is something I'm passionate about.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • T. Licht3 days ago

    Wow Wow Wow, no words! Every line is so powerful and relatable. Great Great Poem!!

Josh MorganWritten by Josh Morgan

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.