Poets logo

Just the Two of Us

06/18/2021-06/15/2021 Unique is good, but those souls come so haunted.

By Melissa OrosPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Celebrating being together (2014--about 9 1/2 years)

She's one in a million, but that's the problem. No sense of delicacy in the unique. No one wants a change of scenery when it comes with such melancholy. Not a word escapes without consequence, always drenched in negativity, when times are changed. A new pill to swallow, a pun, you see? Her and me. Everything is making me just a little bit crazy. Bit my tongue to disguise the wicked words that arise, now all I taste is bloody lies. By omission, I suppose. There it is, lying steady, broken on the floor instead of me. The truth. Somehow, I still wonder who I am supposed to be. It hits, all this preaching of sonder, but now I know the truth. It must be me. The fault cracking society. The painful weight upon your shoulders, the stabbing in your chest; for when I see...it crushes me. Rendered lonely, ached when no one heeds thy call. I truly must not see! To be so greedy! All this time, I've been blind. Someone, please, set me free.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Melissa Oros

Macbre poetry. In 2013 I had an emotional breakdown. I notice now most of the inspiration comes from the darker place since then (before 2013), versus my older poetry being light, funny, passionate in love, etc.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.