Poets logo

My Best Friend

06/07/2021 Why ask for help when no one heeds the call?

By Melissa OrosPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Is bourbon my best friend? No, I'm not that far gone.

That little girl, she's only seen the darkest side of humanity. Like the glow depicted in cinema, as a some tasteless version of a miracle, that is the slam of every negative thing in which she bears witness. Alone in the crowd, the ebony her only company, she treads carefully, though she needs not worry; they do not see beyond their own entity. Courage to ask, her own way, for someone, anyone, to be with...me. My only companion, the one who forevermore responds so intensely, the abyss, absorbs words, eating away her intellect as the synthetics fail to keep her darkest corners at bay. Alone in a crowd, meet my best friend! Won't you join us in The Void? It's lovely here, like a quiet, cold, and dead sea.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Melissa Oros

Macbre poetry. In 2013 I had an emotional breakdown. I notice now most of the inspiration comes from the darker place since then (before 2013), versus my older poetry being light, funny, passionate in love, etc.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.