Poets logo

Jenny

My Fierce Girl

By Christy MunsonPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 months ago 1 min read
3
Jenny
Photo by National Cancer Institute on Unsplash

I pretend to French braid your hair as we giggle about girl stuff and sip fountain lemonade

Your smile is beautiful, the last of your baby teeth sold to the Tooth Faerie for a song

I attend your tea parties in silk pajamas and purple sequined slippers, making us peanut butter sandwiches without the crust and I spill green and purple grapes on your tray

You release the knots in your balloons so they’ll squeal and fly, supersonic butterflies fluttering fierce until the last

You wear a diamond tiara on your bald head and you are the most beautiful princess in the whole wide world

Your wig needs brushing, but not today

We get a little goofy, silly, and sleepy

Crawling up into your bed with you, I bring out pictures of Trixie with her pups crawling out of the box and you ask me if, someday, you will be a mommy, too

I smile, hopeful, and bring out the checkers for another round

***

Copyright © 04/06/2018 by Christy Munson. All rights reserved.

inspirational
3

About the Creator

Christy Munson

My words expose what I find real and worth exploring.

Check out my Welcome! article 👋🏻 for nav assist & Vocal creator recommendations.

Top Stories: 🥳

APR 2024 | APR 2024

MAR 2024 | MAR 2024 | MAR 2024 |

FEB 2024 |

JUN 2021

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test2 months ago

    Awesome story!!! Loved it!!!❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.