Poets logo

Jacob

My first Shakespearean Sonnet about my brother I got a Merit Award!

By Genevieve WhelanPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
The placard I received

In March of 2021, I had to write a Shakespearean Sonnet for school. My teacher told our class about the Sue C. Boynton Poetry Contest in Whatcom County. I knew I wanted to enter. I entered the contest with two of my other classmates. All three of us received awards!! Our teacher said he usually doesn’t have kids win. From that point on, I fell in love with poetry, primarily Shakespearean Sonnets.

My brother left in 2015, and it was really hard for me. I was the only kid home, and I missed him immensely. So I wrote this poem for him:

I look up at my brother who is tall.

I love him in the morning, noon, and night.

He sometimes answers the phone when I call.

He loves his little sis; he will not fight.

My heart leaps because of my big brother.

All I want is my brother to come home.

My big brother loves me and my mother.

I will wait outside for him with my comb.

I wipe my tears when I think of my love.

I loved playing soccer with him and friends.

He opens his arms like wings of a dove.

If he would just come home, it just depends.

Please, Jacob, come home because I love you.

Please come home because I am feeling blue.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Genevieve Whelan

I love writing poetry, especially Shakespearean Sonnets, about family members, and different feelings and things. My family means the world to me! I have recently have had 4 deaths in my family in the last 6 months. It has changed my life!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.