Poets logo

I Cried

I refused, I stared, then I cried...

By AngelBeePublished 2 months ago 1 min read
I Cried
Photo by Dmitry Schemelev on Unsplash

I refused to look at him

Not once

Because then I would melt

And look weak

I refused to look

Not once

Until the very end

When his back was turned

I looked all along his body

I looked at the familiar posture I've come to love so much

I looked along his neck

His beautiful carved nose

I stared

I stared like I'd never seen him

Or anything so beautiful in my life

I felt that great flood of love

But as quickly and great as it came

It was replaced with a feeling of vacancy

Like I lost something precious

So I looked away

I went home

Checked my phone for messages

None

I cried

I ate dinner

Did my piano lessons

Went to bed

And cried

I calmed myself

I felt numb

His sweet voice was suddenly in my head again

I cried.

heartbreakMental Healthlove poemsFree Verse

About the Creator

AngelBee

"Excuse me, I'm speaking." - Kamala Harris

"As artists, we are eternally heartbroken." - Lady gaga

"It's strange how pain marks our faces, and makes us look like family." - Stephen King

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    AngelBeeWritten by AngelBee

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.