Poets logo

it was a simple solution

Ode to Nonna's Sugo Piece!

By Paul StewartPublished about a month ago 2 min read
16
A sugo piece made by me, not a patch on Nonna's. Was tasty though.

it was a simple solution

designed to keep us sated

while we impatiently waited

for the lunchtime feast

it was a simple concoction

a handheld saucy delight

bursting with flavour

seeping between

two slices of white

not the star of the show

treat for those in the know

homely smell and taste

not a crumb went to waste

*

we would moan about the hunger

you didn't shout or chastise

or fill us with silly lies

about ruining our appetite

instead you took the ladle

and a fresh slice of white

you filled with red sugo

and handed them one by one

to each of us hungry kids

we loved the taste, you know

but even more was the show

of deep love you had for us

it was no mean feat or fuss

*

it was a simple solution

designed to keep us sated

while we impatentily waited

that's no longer an issue

the wait, the longing

for a tasty sugo piece

and that's why, Nonna

I'll never be at peace

not really, and I guess

that's fine, part of life

the tip of the sharp knife

left my heart with a hole

but you reside in my soul

*

it was a simple solution

I tried to recreate

but without your love

and without your magic

the taste was there

but something was missing

*

it was a simple solution

just a simple sandwich

a delicious red sugo piece

an Italian Scottish fusion

a reminder of your impact

on our shared timed with you

and beyond.

*

Thanks for reading!

Author's Notes: There are plenty of snacks and other food I could have (and given that I put forward older pieces) already have included as entries for the Snacktime Sonata challenge, but perhaps the one that is so interlocked with memories is what is known as a "sugo piece".

For those unfamiliar with the vernacular, a piece in Scotland is a simple sandwich, usually white bread with some butter, but can have jam or something else inside it. It was a common snack when I was growing up. Given my Nonna's heritage as an Italian-born immigrant, she took the humble piece and elevated it by infusing it with her sugo, pasta sauce. So when we went to her's for lunch on a Sunday, or other days and occasions, she would give us a sugo piece. It was not just a way of keeping us sated until our pasta followed by salad, chicken, or cured, cold meats, and roast potatoes meal was ready, it became a tradition. For the challenge, as there is a lack of stock photos of sugo pieces on the internet, I made sugo just for the purpose of having images of a sugo piece. It was, sadly, not a patch on her's, but for the few bites it lasted, it transported me back there, to her house.

Here are some messy images of how it was made:

Saucy!

It has to be a generous amount or none at tall.

Finito!

vintagesad poetryperformance poetryOdelove poemsheartbreakGratitude
16

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Joe O’Connor29 days ago

    Something about Nanas/Grandmas and food huh! I like how you explained what a sugo is (I looked it up midway haha), and the pictures help too. Full of rich imagery when describing the food e.g. "seeping between two slices of white" and feeling in the second half, particularly where you repeat bits. Loved reading this:)

  • Grz Colmabout a month ago

    Love this and those memories in your poem! I have not heard of this exactly… I’d assumed it was sweet by the sugo word, but I guess this means something else.. I’m so glad you made it and took photos. That’s awesome! 😎

  • Sounds delicious, & the memories are precious.

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    How dare you make me so hungry with your words and photos?! 😫😫😫 But seriously though, that looks sooooo good! You may think I'm nuts, but this is who I am. I tend to favour simple food over the extravagant kind!

  • John Coxabout a month ago

    Everyone is writing food memories lately. Cathy Holmes posted If I could Taste Memories and Lamar Wiggins posted Memories from the Ghetto (recommend checking out both). Lamar's and yours are like poems written in parallel universes. And all of these posted today! I loved your poem/elegy to your Nonna. The Sugo looks incredible!

  • A lovely tribute to your Nonna. Sounds yummy. We used to have a morsel of last night’s moussaka or whatever, for breakfast… after cereal. Better fed in those days than today’s lean pickings at my place🙃

  • Jess Boyesabout a month ago

    That’s so lovely. Those memories are the best ones. I’m also hungry now ☺️ Great poetry!

  • Shirley Belkabout a month ago

    What a beautiful (and delicious) story! Brought tears. I'm so glad you gave us a glimpse into Nonna and her kitchen. (When I make my spaghetti sauce, before the noodles are done, I get a small bowl and dip with white bread.) I think it's better than with pasta. I am going to say that this will be a winning entry!

  • Hannah Mooreabout a month ago

    Isn't it funny how someone leaves a taste signature in a dish that just can't be reproduced.

  • Andrea Corwin about a month ago

    Dang Paul it looks like a meal, not a snack! Great poem, well done!’ 😋 Yay for Nona!!

  • D. J. Reddallabout a month ago

    A moving tribute to your Nonna and a clear sign of the extraordinary fecundity of Scottish/Italian fusions--the author being further proof of that himself, if I may be so bold!

  • Sara Wilsonabout a month ago

    Love really does give the food a special flavor. ☺️

  • Suze Kayabout a month ago

    I suddenly have a hankering to make my own sauce this weekend! Thanks for giving us a little peek into your childhood, Paul 💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.