Poets logo

Goodnight, False Light

a rumored villain’s backstory

By Davina Zinn McKeePublished 12 days ago 1 min read
6
Goodnight, False Light
Photo by Alexander Krivitskiy on Unsplash

Epiphany glimmers around my ostracism. It’s

curtains for me in their halo of ghost light, and their crisp

lot of flashbulbs in my darkroom halt development. They

illuminate the silver screen, my fiendish portrayal

projected from their third eye’s myopic perception;

spliced phantasmagoria shrouding me in lunacy.

Exalted by the gloaming, I reemerge the brightest star.

Acrostic
6

About the Creator

Davina Zinn McKee

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Joe O’Connorabout 18 hours ago

    I like all the camera imagery Davina- it’s a great way to connect to the eclipse idea of light revealed or hidden. I had to look up what phantasmagoria meant, but it fits nicely with the idea of splicing 👏🏾

  • Teresa Renton7 days ago

    Ooh so much hidden depth & complexity here. Reminds me of the Thomas theorem ’If men define situations as real, they are real in their consequences’ and it sounds as if judgements have been made in the case of the speaker. I love the falseness of the flashlights and silver screen ironically set against the spirituality of a ‘third eye’ - (my favourite line). I was pleased to see her reemerge as the brightest star. I’d love to know what she did and how? But I respect your poetic prerogative not to tell 😉

  • Kenny Penn8 days ago

    Fantastic acrostic, Davina. The ending was so satisfying

  • Davina, I love your acrostic! Even the title alluding to false light tells the reader the protagonist has been wrongly portrayed, so it's satisfying when she emerges as the brightest star.

  • I love this!!! "I reemerges as the brightest star" is so uplifting and energizing!!! Excellent work!!! I have subscribed to you and I hope to read more from you soon!!!

  • Oooo, that was such a powerful ending! Loved your Acrostic so much!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.