Poets logo

Madness in Creativity

For the March Madness Write Club Prompt (Unofficial)

By Paul StewartPublished about a month ago โ€ข Updated about a month ago โ€ข 1 min read
19
Madness in Creativity
Photo by Camila Quintero Franco on Unsplash

Madness takes over

all sensibilities out

creativity

*

Creativity

dissects all of the madness

offers clarity

*

Clarity, crisp sweet

as crystal clear as oceans

open and deep bliss

*

Bliss brings quiet peace

to uneasy busy minds

then madness dies down

*

Dies down, short reprieve

for a refresh and a grasp

grasp at sanity

*

Thanks for reading!

Author's Notes: This is for ๐Œ๐š๐ซ๐œ๐ก ๐–๐ซ๐ข๐ญ๐ž ๐‚๐ฅ๐ฎ๐› ๐๐ซ๐จ๐ฆ๐ฉ๐ญ (๐”๐ง๐จ๐Ÿ๐Ÿ๐ข๐œ๐ข๐š๐ฅ ๐‚๐ก๐š๐ฅ๐ฅ๐ž๐ง๐ ๐ž) ๐Ÿ‘. ๐Œ๐š๐ซ๐œ๐ก ๐Œ๐š๐๐ง๐ž๐ฌ๐ฌ! I am working on another, longer, deeper piece than this one. That is taking a lot more work, but should be done by the deadline. HOPEFULLY! Or I'll go crazy, cos its story has been living rent-free in my mind for waaaaaay too long. Anyway, enough about that.

On to this.

This.

This came to me. I often think about the fine line between madness and creativity. So tried to highlight it in multi-senryu form.

Here is a link to the challenge, put together by the rather awesome RM Stockton.

Here is a bonus:

If you are a fan of my English language torture and word abuse, then you may enjoy these:

surreal poetrysocial commentarySenryuperformance poetryMental HealthinspirationalFree Verse
19

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  5. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • ๐‘๐Œ ๐’๐ญ๐จ๐œ๐ค๐ญ๐จ๐ง20 days ago

    Excellent, and so much truth here. I think most of us here can relate to this, Paul! With creativity comes madness, and with madness comes creativity. We actually long for that madness, I think, as it inspires our brightest pieces of art/work. Many of my best ideas are born through dreams, and the darker and more haunted and twisted the dream, the more creative the inspiration. The fear, however, is that the longer we spend in that state of madness, the looser our grip becomes on reality!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)29 days ago

    I like what you did here Paul! It was thought provoking for me and really has me pondering my own sense of madness! Great work my friend!!

  • Lacy Loar-Gruenlerabout a month ago

    Paul, I love this poem! I often feel when we write we do float in some madness and then emerge hours later wondering where we have been.

  • Lindsay Sfaraabout a month ago

    Something about your stanza, "Creativity / dissects of all the madness / offers clarity" really struck me. And I'm working to figure out why. I guess I never realized that creativity can end up being a tool that provides answers for when you feel lost. And, I think based on past experiences, that makes sense! Really thought-provoking and well done as always, Paul. I always look forward to your work!

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Oooo, looking forward to reading your longer, deeper piece! Loved your poem, Sir Paul! ๐Ÿฉ๐Ÿฅ

  • Gerard DiLeoabout a month ago

    Cyclic nice! Like a whirlpool draining.

  • John Coxabout a month ago

    Leaning over the edge of madness before dancing back with inspiration. Is this a bit self-revelatory me thinks? Flirting with the deep and terrifying dive into the dark night of the soul and using the resulting epiphany to climb back out again? I for one am looking forward to the promised deeper dive. Hopefully it will bring you a longer reprieve this time. Be careful down there! ๐Ÿ˜Š

  • Sooo good!๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿผ I love your circumstantial thinkingโ€ฆ will have to try it in poetryโ€ฆ since it is how my mind โ€™worksโ€™๐Ÿ˜ตโ€๐Ÿ’ซ โ€˜ Or I'll go crazy, cos its story has been living rent-free in my mind for waaaaaay too long.โ€™๐Ÿ˜†

  • At least you get the short reprieve, Paul. I do believe my madness runs on a continuous loop.

  • Babs Iversonabout a month ago

    Fantastic!!! Loved it!!!โค๏ธโค๏ธ๐Ÿ’•

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.