Poets logo

It's not about Love

It's About Money, Honey!

By Kaliyah MyersPublished about a year ago 1 min read
3
Created By Kaliyah Myers

If I had a penny for,

Every time I wished there was more...

If I had a Nickle,

For every time I was left in a pickle-

If I had a dime,

For every time we didn't rhyme...

If I had a quarter!

For every time my heart should be wrapped in mortar!

If I had a buck-

For all the times I just felt… stuck.

If I said that would make me rich...

Would that make me the bitch?

If I said then I wouldn't need you-

Could that really be true?

Even when I say this, others may think...

That it's about love but it's not, that stinks!

No, it's not love that is at stake,

It's just my goddamn bank.

This is not about having heartbreak...

Its not about feelings being put to a rake,

It's about taxes!

And faxes!

It's about the life that should be mine,

Outweighed by that of a dime…

- Kaliyah Myers, a Poem to a soon to be book named, The Mad Project

Thank you for taking the time to give this a read! Any and all feedback is highly appreciated and if you would please, drop a like and a follow! If you comment, I'll be able to see you and do the same in return! Thank you, Thank you! See you all another time!

artexcerptsfact or fictionheartbreakinspirationallove poemssad poetrysurreal poetryvintage
3

About the Creator

Kaliyah Myers

"Change is imperative. But the kind of change is the most important detail."

In being a writer, I hope to share something relatable and adventurous that you can love too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mabout a year ago

    That's really good!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.