Poets logo

The Mad Project

Pt. 2 - Broken Promises

By Kaliyah MyersPublished about a year ago 4 min read
1
Created by Kaliyah Myers

Pt.2 - Broken Promises

+ Lost Trust

+ Leave

+ The Playground

+ The Wishful Promise

+ The Disguised Lies

Broken Promises, new formed lies. They’re all different colors in my tie-dye.

Sometimes it felt like I lived in a world fabricated from lies, some were intended to make me feel better- to tell me that things were better than they were. It could be comforting until you are told you are crazy for not thinking everything is pretty butterflies and rainbows. It's strange how those same people come around later, astonished because could you believe it? It wasn't all that great after all. Other lies are even worse, and far deeper because those ones… you believed. Imagine trusting someone with everything and thinking they trusted you with everything too just to find out later how sitcom opposite it was from reality. The lies were not even related, yet, they covered for each other in a way. There's more lies, sick lies that convince you to stay no matter how much evidence you have against it…

I learned, very early, to never take a promise to heart. I later learned to not be too honest when people ask about your life. Just smile and say it's okay. That's all anyone ever wants to know. I learned after that, to keep trust on lockdown like it's the most precious gem in the universe that anyone will try to swipe because they have already lost their own… While they have some truth, of course, none of these lessons were healthy. But they kept me going… As I got older I learned healthier lessons and forced myself to have more value in my well-being than those who hurt me. You are always worth better but know that you will never be worth more than you believe. If I wanted to have value, I had to leave and make it myself. No one is worth your own health, well-being, and happiness. You may think you are all they have… I did. But what will they have when you are really gone? If you can feel it slipping away, save yourself.

Broken Promises

Created by Kaliyah Myers

Poem- 006, Lost Trust

A world of fire and ash,

spun through the webs of time,

the thread that spiraled,

through the water's brine.

A mist so agile,

swirled so perfectly, within the tile.

not seen for a hundred miles,

lost within a nile,

of… You… You…

You stare within my eyes

a look so stern,

so vile.

Leave me with nothing,

not even a trial,

be as you please,

I’ll stay hidden,

within my trees.

Return is not,

for you left,

my loyal to rot.

A soft hum,

buzzed within a gift of rum.

Forgiveness in the brink of expectation,

you intrude with no invitation,

my heart is not,

to fall without being caught.

A war of emotion,

stole my sanity,

A lust at all high,

shared in vanity.

You say to give trust,

I believe it's all a bust.

Here is where you may find,

words hurt, they stand in line,

to tear and break at the lies,

more poisonous than alkaline.

Though, this is not the intention,

despite your transgression.

This is a story of pain,

but not shared in vain,

offered in the words, a given relief,

seeped within our times of grief,

be it as it may...

So, be on your way.

- Kaliyah Myers

Created by Kaliyah Myers

Poem- 007, Leave

Time spills forever,

like ink on a page.

Your lie is wherever…

The truth is stuck in its cage.

You always hype up your fantasy,

Can't you just leave?

Stop the insanity

It's really no cleave

For once can you listen?

No, my trust will never glisten.

Like my tears do.

My cuts run deep,

But not deep enough for you.

- Kaliyah Myers

Created by Kaliyah Myers

Poem- 008, The Playground

The swing leans back

The saw drops down

He got the sack

He’s all lost by now

The swing leans forward

The saw slides up

Did you see that man?

He looks like a broken cup.

- Kaliyah Myers

Created by Kaliyah Myers

Poem- 009, The Wishful Promise

I think more often than not,

A wish is confused with that of a promise.

You wish we could be together, forever

You and me.

I wish that too

So we promise just that.

Me and you.

But you're not a prophet and I,

No oracle.

So why do we promise?

It's only rhetorical.

Forever is so long,

Yet, we lasted only a song.

Maybe they were right,

and we were wrong

Maybe they were right,

it wouldn't last long…

- Kaliyah Myers

Created by Kaliyah Myers

Poem- 010, The Disguised Lies

Your soul is like the river at night…

So calm and deep like a reminder,

that everything is alright.

So many whispers to call here,

There's that familiar sparkle in your eye!

Reminds some of the twilight sky…

Unknown to most, as the predators lie.

The words spill like molasses.

Soft and slow, a deep brown.

I know deep down,

It's too good to be true,

The lies I’ve learned to…

Recognize as you.

- Kaliyah Myers

This is a compilation of Poems that will become a section in my upcoming poetry book, called; The Mad Project. Thank you for taking the time to give this a read! Any and all feedback is highly appreciated and if you would please, drop a like and a follow! If you comment, I'll be able to see you and do the same in return!

Thank you, Thank you! See you all another time!

artexcerptsfact or fictionheartbreakinspirationalsurreal poetryvintage
1

About the Creator

Kaliyah Myers

"Change is imperative. But the kind of change is the most important detail."

In being a writer, I hope to share something relatable and adventurous that you can love too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.