Poets logo

Is it love?

or hate

By Heather HublerPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Created with CanvPro

Warning: strong language and content

***

Dearest self-sabotage,

-

Watch closely while that cherry burns a soft subtle glow,

As I clutch my sanity and dream of tomorrow.

The bright red illuminating my bee-stung lips,

Tracks of black down my cheeks that slowly drip,

A sigh of resignation and satisfaction ready for flight.

Calloused hands skimming skin, quickly buried out of sight.

We're fire and fight, passion and fever.

Hate fucking is our thing, but I wish it was neither.

I want roses and kisses, a romantic glutton,

A gentle lover that doesn't push all my angry buttons.

But we're oil and water, never quite mixing,

We come together in a tempest that always needs fixing.

The thunderclouds roll, our bodies drawn like a tether,

The euphoria is heady as we yell and clash, come together.

I scratch lines down your back as you pull on my hair,

Our teeth click and clack, as our souls are laid bare.

We grunt and we roll, struggling to control and devour,

Why am I a slave to this cycle, a slut for the power?

The insults we throw like grenades as we reel,

Creating wounds with no chance to recover or heal.

I lie here after, pulling a drag and wonder,

Will I ever stop loving the sound of thunder?

-

Perpetually addicted,

Me

______________________________________

Note: not based on personal events.

performance poetrysad poetry

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family=life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy DanaS Babs Brin

Gina Tiff Grz KJ Thavien CH Kelli

Veronica BrentonF Paul Dean Holly Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS Donna Moe

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen Randy

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (17)

  • Paul Stewartabout a year ago

    This is a rough lil gem. I second Dean's words. This would have seemed infantile and silly in the wrong hands, but you gave it a real beating heart, bloodying up the screen!

  • Dean F. Hardyabout a year ago

    This could turn so cheesy and cliche in the wrong hands. Thankfully you don't possess the wrong hands. I'm in love with that last line.

  • Dark Moon Empireabout a year ago

    God, I love the power in this. The never ending tug between what we desperately want and what we fall trap to. Great writing!

  • Powerful , another Top Story no doubt

  • JBazabout a year ago

    Love you wrote it in that text, adds power. You didn’t hold back on this one, proud of you.

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    Hot tamale, this is so awesome! I absolutely loved it all, but that ending, ‘ I lie here after, pulling a drag and wonder,Will I ever stop loving the sound of thunder?’ Brilliant! ❤️

  • Oooo, this was sooooo spicyyyyy 🌶🌶🌶🌶🌶 and hottttt 🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Sexy and soooo sultry. This is naughty and SO good. You are a master of words, my friend! 😍

  • Brenton Fabout a year ago

    I have barely scratched some of the surfaces you have fully exposed. I am in awe and total and complete admiration of this piece.

  • Wow. Simply, wow. After such raw expression of love & anger & hate & passion..., I find myself spent. Not even the remaining strength for an exclamation point. More of a sighing gasp..., wow. Some say that makeup sex is the best. I don't know. I've never had any. But something about the intensity of emotion, the rawness & exposures of nerves still drawn to the other, almost animalistic or instinctive in nature, makes me think it might be true. Sorry again, Heather, but once again the only disappointment I find here is that I can only experience this vicariously through your writing. Though I, too, am addicted to thunder.

  • Thavien Yliasterabout a year ago

    That was fucking fantastic. Hot, spicy, sultry, and hits the spot in all the right places. Gosh darn. Great poem.

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Haha. This is great. I howled at the disclaimer. Fuck yeah!

  • Jay Kantorabout a year ago

    Hi 'H' ~ R/U certain you have no A.I. in-ya! I can't keep up with you ~ But you keep me amused! If ever you take a break ~ Please look at a 'Schpiel' I wrote "Brain-Freeze" re; addictions! It may 'amuse' you? - Vocal Author Community - Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author

  • Dana Crandellabout a year ago

    Heather, your rhyme and meter always flow beautifully and that adds to the immense power of this piece. Well done!

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    Whoa I have no words this was crazy good.

  • Poetic❤️😉💯

Heather HublerWritten by Heather Hubler

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.