Poets logo

Lies upon lies

burying the truth

By Heather HublerPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Top Story - April 2023
53
Created with CanvaPro

Warning: dark content

~

Dear John,

-

I told you I hated you today.

I breathed that wicked thing to life

In hushed words and resignation

While I wiped your face clean.

Vomit and liquor stinging my nose,

Tears clogging my throat.

Your tie dangling out of the pants pocket

I ironed only that morning,

And along with it, a used wrapper

You used for her.

I've been telling myself for too long

That I don't care.

That you still come home to me.

God, I'm such a liar.

I watched your shoulders slump and

Your eyes glaze over.

I wanted to take it all back,

But my jaw was wired shut

With memories of the past,

Thread sewn through my lips in

Jagged rows stitched from

Hurt and jealousy,

The silk in my aching hands

Wrapped tight.

I wanted you to suffer just a bit.

And now you're gone.

I added your silence to mine.

-

The sirens are getting louder now.

I'm not sure if they wail for me

Or for you.

It doesn't matter anymore.

-

Farewell to the lies,

Jane

sad poetryheartbreak
53

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family=life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy DanaS Babs Brin

Gina Tiff Grz KJ Thavien CH Kelli

Veronica BrentonF Paul Dean Holly Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS Donna Moe

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen Randy

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (39)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Congratulations on Top story, feel the raw emotion

  • Paul Stewartabout a year ago

    Oh fuck. You've been churning out some truly powerful ones of late. I approve! Not that you asked for that - but bravo! Unfortunately, this is all too relatable for me for the wrong reasons on the other side of things. But your pen was blistering with raw emotion when you wrote this, so I applaud it!

  • Poppy about a year ago

    Omg this is amazing! Well done

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Oh my...I'm not sure how I missed this one! How do you do this? These words had me like 🥺 Reading this was like watching two hands slowly emerge from the screen and then feeling them stab my through my soul. Super powerful and...I hope all is ok 🥺❤️

  • Testabout a year ago

    I love this!

  • Charles Isaiahabout a year ago

    Lovely one👍

  • Kayla Lindleyabout a year ago

    YES! I loved this. You could feel your emotion in this. So glad this was written well done!

  • JBazabout a year ago

    Dont mess with H. H. - Congratualtions on Top Story- this is a goody

  • Thavien Yliasterabout a year ago

    This... hits... hard... I have no idea how You continue to do it, Heather. Yet, somehow, You seem to get it done.

  • Moe Radosevichabout a year ago

    What can I say but bravo to u, H2, and 🥳 wonderful entry

  • Congratulations on your Top Story💖🎉😉

  • Tiffany Gordon about a year ago

    HH didn't come to play today! That was some otherworldly writing! GO GURL!

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    You always hit deep, chica. Too many parts to love for wording. But this was probably my favorite: "I'm not sure if they wail for me / Or for you." Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    Tv drama or fortune cookie, I am all in!! Great job 👏

  • Caroline Janeabout a year ago

    Oooo that sears!!! Brutally raw. Congratulations on your top story. ❤

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Hey, Empress. Congrats on the well deserved TS

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    So good, Heather. I really love the question I don't know if the sirens are for you or me.

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    Absolutely brilliant. I can picture everything like reality because it IS like real life. Congratulations on top story!

  • Congratulations on your Top Story

  • Dark excellence

  • Gerald Holmesabout a year ago

    Wow! This is dark but speaks to a truth that many people live. Great job.

  • John M Edwards Jrabout a year ago

    Wow.

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a year ago

    Woah! This was generously dark. Sometimes the breaking point ends with temporary satisfaction. I'm glad you hashed this one out. It speaks volumes.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.