Poets logo

In Sensed

I'm overwhelmed

By Phil FlanneryPublished about a year ago 1 min read
8
In Sensed
Photo by Amanda Dalbjörn on Unsplash

I saw you first, and it was your eyes that rivetted my gaze,

I could stare into that soft blue, and stay trapped in there for days.

I am imprisoned by your vision, it’s only you who holds the key,

I am no one’s fool but yours, I never want to be set free.

Oh, that longing I first felt, to touch your tender skin,

Without telling you, how could you know the hell that I was in.

Then, when you put your hand in mine, my cares just fell away.

Now, such a long time holding you, I feel it still today.

The scent of you, the chemicals, you put into the air,

You know not what it does to me, you seem so unaware.

I sense your presence in a room even when my eyes are closed,

That chemical reaction in my brain whenever I’m exposed.

Your voice, I never tire of that wonderful, glorious timbre,

Sends vibrations up my spine, my nerves tingle and quiver.

To hear you speak when we’re alone, so softly in my ear,

My surrender to your love, is want you want to hear.

Finally to taste your lips, that salty sweet of you

My palate is now spoiled for others, they just wouldn’t do.

In close confines my mind it reels, I want to have you all,

I step back, your dress unzips, I watch it as it falls.

Now, with all my senses filled, I ask you as I watch,

How did you know we were the two, who perfectly did match?

You told me, that you knew my soul, the moment that we met.

Now I think back to that first look and I know just what you meant.

love poems
8

About the Creator

Phil Flannery

Damn it, I'm 61 now, which means I'm into my fourth year on Vocal, I have an interesting collection of stories. I love the Challenges and enter, when I can, but this has become a lovely hobby.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colmabout a year ago

    Wonderful piece Phil - heartfelt and romantic with an excellent structure! 😊✨👍

  • Nice piece ❤️😉

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Very nicely done.

  • Cendrine Marrouatabout a year ago

    A nice read, thank you!

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Fabulous!!! Love this!!!💖💖💕

  • Nice words and a good first shot at the challenge

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.