Poets logo

Mabel

This poem came about while I was writing a very long teenage love story. Mabel became very important to the young lovers discovering each other and understanding the absurdity of the adults around them. Makes you wonder why we want to grow up.

By Phil FlanneryPublished about a year ago 1 min read
7
Mabel
Photo by George Levai on Unsplash

Mabel you are truly, a beauty in blue

But look what time and neglect has done to you

Four cylinders and four wheels just waiting to go

Two doors, now two more, you waiting to glow

You waited there quietly covered in grime

Until she found you in such a state, she thought it a crime

So with love and a hose and a sponge and a tub

We set about uncovering your beauty, though we did have to rub

Oh, dear Mabel, who could have known?

as you waited quietly for some love of your own

you would become part of a bigger story

I am quite happy to share in the glory

She and me now, on our new journey

We needed a place to make sense of this yearning

You gave us some freedom, a way to escape

from our boring existence, the peers and the gapes

You became our escape pod, like floating in space

We seemed in a hurry, though you set the pace

Slow and steady was the best you could do

That was OK, ‘cause our days were so few

You carried us where we wanted to go

The where didn’t matter, if you needed to know

You gave us the time to talk, share, discover

And try and make sense of our love for each other

Mabel I’m sorry, we’ve left you alone

We’ve both had to journey so far from our home

And left you to sit and wait, and I wonder

Will you think of us while we travel yonder

I make you a promise, I make you a vow

That on our return, I will show you somehow

How much we have missed you and how loved you are

You are part of our family, you lovely little car

I would like to acknowledge the great Pam Ayres, who used to visit Australia often an appear on daytime variety shows. She is my inspiration. I wish I could be as funny.

love poems
7

About the Creator

Phil Flannery

Damn it, I'm 61 now, which means I'm into my fourth year on Vocal, I have an interesting collection of stories. I love the Challenges and enter, when I can, but this has become a lovely hobby.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Jay Kantorabout a year ago

    Hi Phil ~  I'm so glad that I've discovered your VM work. Your thought out 'presentations,' along with the lovely drop downs, caught my eye.*I've subscribed to you to see what's next. I'm just a self-described (3) minute "Goof-Writer" ~ not a challenge guy. Interacting among 'Creators' is the most meaningful to me. I can so relate to this and your "1st Sight" with (3) of my shorts; different styles ~ But same recipes! Ooh ~ I have an e-type named "Millie"  Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal Authors Community -

  • Dana Crandellabout a year ago

    A great story in this!

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Love this!!!

  • Cendrine Marrouatabout a year ago

    I can relate to this great piece. My first car had that effect on me, even though it was gone way too fast.

  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    Oh this was absolutely wonderful 🤗. Through memories we see the friendships we made, even if those friends come in the form of a beat up, but trust car 🤗. ❤'d and subscribed.

  • Grz Colmabout a year ago

    Great light and comedic tone and I love the personification (I think that is the right term) of the car! 😁A terrific job.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.