Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Heartthorne

For my mother and Father

By Nayda BarlupPublished 15 days ago 1 min read
1
Heartthorne
Photo by Joshua Harris on Unsplash

Mother, can you forgive me

Can I wipe away your tears?

Father, do you hate me

Am I the product of your fears?

Thus questions asked

But never spoken

Never uttered in the faintest sense.

I’ve become what you feared

I’ve become what you hate.

But I’m just me

Is it too late?

Now that the mask has slipped

My heart has been tipped

Do you still love the daughter you bore?

Am I too much for wicked eyes?

Do I deceive your dreams?

Your hopes

Of something better

The truth is, this is me

This is who I am

I lack ambition

I lack care

This heart

Is all I fair

And a heavy heart it is

Catching on the winds

Splattering against the trees

Nothing but silence

My emotions spill out

Like pools of crimson

My emotions spill out

At any chance they get

I have no control

It’s not your fault

Stream of Consciousnesssad poetryFamily
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.