Poets logo

In My Own Lane

No Drama Allowed

By Nathonia SmithPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1
Alone Not Lonely

At times I find it necessary for peace

To just stay in my own lane.

I prefer to avoid unnecessary grief

And words that may cause pain.

I’ve always tried to be a friend to all.

A loving person I will remain.

But, for my own daily peace of mind

It’s best I stay in my own lane.

As the years come and go

Some things seem to never change

Life is not always filled with joy.

There’s hurt which causes pain.

So, because I’m considered too sensitive

I just prefer to stay in my own lane.

That doesn't mean I'm lonely.

I have no reason to complain.

There's no resentment towards anyone.

I'm just better in my own lane.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Nathonia Smith

I am a wife, mother, grandmother, inventor and online published writer who recently completed studies at Ashford University earning a Bachelors Degree in Human Resource Management. Writing has always given me such joy and fulfillment.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.