Poets logo

In Defiance of `Immortality`

A free verse poem about grief

By Stephanie WilsonPublished 11 months ago ā€¢ 1 min read
Top Story - July 2023
In Defiance of `Immortality`
Photo by Gavin Allanwood on Unsplash

TW: death, grief, loss of a pet

"Do not stand at my grave and weep" -

Well then, perhaps I shall simply sit with you a while,

And I shall mourn, and write a little.

And if the tears should come, then I will let them.

I know you will not think less of me,

Since dogs neither write poetry, nor care much for it.

Why should I not stand here and weep, if weeping is what I wish to do?

Why should I not visit your resting place, when visiting is all there is to do?

Why should I not howl in anger at the words of some dusty old poet

Who dares to proclaim that you are not here?

You are most certainly here.

Why else would it be so hard for me to come?

Perhaps if I came more often - but no, it would not help.

A mind needs time in which to heal

Before being torn once more to shreds.

My tea is growing cold; the wind has dried my face.

My aching soul is quieter,

And the world more loudly insists that I return.

But before I go, I say to you:

To hell with that damned poem, the one I once thought beautiful

In those days when I had not yet learned

What it truly means to grieve.

So I will sit at your grave and cry;

Because you are here, and you did die.

The poem `Immortality` seems to mostly be attributed to either Clare Harner, or Mary Frye. That poem was the catalyst for this one.

heartbreaksad poetry

About the Creator

Stephanie Wilson

I am a chronic dreamer and procrastinator.

I've loved writing since childhood and recently I keep finding myself being drawn back to it.

Still trying to figure it all out.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (11)

  • Rachel Deeming5 months ago

    So sad. And yet, not because you are powerful in your grief which gives this a defiance almost. The rawness is undeniable.

  • Ian Read11 months ago

    Wonderful work. I know first hand how unbearable grief is, and it's great to see some semblance of acceptance in this poem.

  • Test11 months ago

    Damn. This hit. ā€œA mind needs time in which to heal Before being torn once more to shreds.ā€ Beautifully tragic and so true. And congrats to you.

  • Chloe Gilholy11 months ago

    Beautiful and sad.

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    Sadly beautiful. Congrats on the TS.

  • Alexandria Stanwyck11 months ago

    This poem is the perfect response to anyone who mistakenly says some crap about "it is just a dog." I used to work in with animals and I heard this more times than I would like to admit. But like you wrote: "So I will sit at your grave and cry; Because you are here, and you did die." Pets are as much a valued member of our families as the two-legged members.

  • Gerald Holmes11 months ago

    This touched me deeply. I lost my 13 year old Golden last year and still think about her every day. As Elizabeth Barrett Browning said, "And if God choose, I shall but love thee better after death." Congrats on a Top Story that brought me to tears.

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Lovely!!! Sending love and hugs!!!ā¤ļøā¤ļøšŸ’•

  • ā¤ļøā¤ļøšŸ“šŸ„¹

  • Sending hugs and comfort for this one, but the biggest positive is to see you writing

  • Even if for no other reason that you are not here with me as you were before, with your body now moldering in the ground. Prayers & blessings to you.

Stephanie WilsonWritten by Stephanie Wilson

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Ā© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.