Poets logo

Steam

An Entry for Judey Kalchik's Unofficial "Listen!" Poetry Anagram Challenge

By Rachel DeemingPublished 3 days ago 1 min read
Steam
Photo by Gaelle Marcel on Unsplash

It rises, steam, freely, a gas giver, heavenward;

Heat from meats, from greens, from beans, from us,

All heading upwards, twisting puffs uniting in teams:

Of disparate origin but becoming mates as they mingle;

The carnival of the atmosphere tames their difference.

*

You can read about the original challenge of Judey's here:

social commentaryFor Fun

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Storyteller. Poet. Reviewer. Traveller.

I love to write. Check me out in the many places where I pop up:

Medium

My blog

Reedsy

Linkedin

Goodreads

X

Facebook

Beware of imitators.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (9)

  • Paul Stewarta day ago

    Okay, chumalylum, I was sure I wroted a comment bout this fine piece! I'm still working on an impossibly tricky thing for Judey's challenge. This was aa delight. As Angie said. I am borrowing it. The word thief I is. I now need to find the other comment then that you replied to...it's probably one of your micros...I think...anyway. Well done again, did I say that all ready? all ready. smash that together - already!

  • A delightful read… liked: “ Of disparate origin but becoming mates as they mingle”✅ I hadn’t caught up with this Challenge yet… this set the bar very high 😳.

  • A brilliant take on the challenge

  • Caroline Craven3 days ago

    I don’t know how you do this! This was brill!

  • TheSpinstress3 days ago

    This is a brilliant poem, not only in the way you've done so well with the constraints of the challenge, but also in your choice of topic. Steam rising is such an ordinary thing, but you turned it into a beautiful event.

  • D.K. Shepard3 days ago

    Deftly done! Love how you created a tangible scene with a cohesive narrative using all the anagram words!!

  • John Cox3 days ago

    Clever amalgamation, Rachel. Especially loved the last 2 lines!

  • shanmuga priya3 days ago

    That's wonderful! You just made me to enjoy the beauty of every day occurence.😊

  • The carnival of atmosphere, wow, I especially loved that! This was so brilliant!

Rachel DeemingWritten by Rachel Deeming

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.