Poets logo

If Walls Could Talk, Could We Hear Them?

I Don’t Know. Ask Pink Floyd

By Cathy holmesPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Top Story - February 2023
37
Photo by Jacob Dyer on Unsplash

If The Wall(s) could talk, could we hear them,

even if they were on The Dark Side of The Moon?

How would we know?

Would they ring a Division Bell that called Animals

to The Piper at the Gates of Dawn?

And why would we go?

Does the piper have A Saucerful of Secrets we spilled,

in A Momentary Lapse of Reason?

Either way, onward we go.

Along The Endless River to the gate

Obscured by Clouds, where we

meet the Atom Heart Mother, who

Meddle(s) to determine which of us makes

The Final Cut.

If I am the unfortunate chosen one,

my final thoughts will be of you, and how I

Wish You Were Here.

*****

I attempted to start a story for the If Walls could Talk challenge, but got Pink Floyd's album The Wall stuck in my head instead. So, deciding to go with the flow, I penned this poem honouring the band with the names of some of their studio albums. I hope you enjoyed it.

social commentary
37

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (30)

Sign in to comment
  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    Excellent Cathy! Congrats 🥰

  • Brigitte Taylorabout a year ago

    Very interesting! I am a Cannuck also and grew up with Pink Floyd.

  • Dean F. Hardyabout a year ago

    Well played, Cathy. Division Bell being my favourite album.

  • Allie Bickertonabout a year ago

    Very Creative, Cathy!! Your sense of humor always makes me smile. 🙂

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    Congrats!!

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    Cool idea! I love The Wall. Hearted and congratulations 🍾 on your top story!

  • JBazabout a year ago

    Go Canada. Congratulations. I should have a Congratulations stamp made up

  • Misty Raeabout a year ago

    Love it! How can anyone think about a wall talking and NOT think Pink Floyd? Congratulations on the top story, we Canadians are really representing that front page today! :)

  • Congratulations on your Top Story

  • D.L. Finnabout a year ago

    I love this poetic tribute to Pink Floyd. You ended with one of my favorites. I've written poetry while listening to Floyd; it does inspire!

  • Brenton Fabout a year ago

    So glad to see The Final Cut in there - Floyded hard!

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Congratulations on Top Story!! This probably won't be the first time I'll congratulate you today!!

  • Emily Marie Concannonabout a year ago

    Hehehe I relate about pink Floyd!! Wonderful Cathy 💜

  • JBazabout a year ago

    I wasn't sure at first so I read it again. Cathy this is really good, thinking about how much thought was put into this. It works and I love it.

  • Paul Stewartabout a year ago

    This was effing incredible, Cathy. It's an easy sell from the get-go for me because of Pink Floyd. I loved how it flowed and everything fit into place and made sense. Damn, Cathy. Damn, that's good!

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    This is fantastic! I love it!

  • Holly Pheniabout a year ago

    So great!

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Great Job. I know how it is when you got a song stuck on your mind while writing. ♥️

  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    However it stands with the challenge prompt, this is fantastic! ::

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    We don’t need no education, but we sure enjoyed it 😜❤️ Great job

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    Very nice! 🤟🏻

  • Whoaaaa, this brilliance at its finest! So creative! I loved it!

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    Very creative ! Well done!

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Ahh, I love this idea!!! Kick-ass! You'll get a top story for this one :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.