Poets logo

If Only You Stay True

A Love Poem

By Gary RagnarssonPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 1 min read
10
If Only You Stay True
Photo by Kateryna Hliznitsova on Unsplash

You hurt me, you know you did—

And I hope that I can heal.

But from that pain I know,

That the love we have is real.

🖤

We’ll put it back to how it was,

Only you and me.

Fun, sex, heat, and love,

Sand and sun and sea.

🖤

We’ll run and jump and skip,

In fire, wind, and rain.

Any and all that it will take,

To undo all the pain.

🖤

I know you’d take it back,

If only time had let you.

But such a gift we do not need,

If only you stay true.

🖤

This poem was written for the ‘Short & Sweet’ challenge, where us Vocal writers were tasked with writing a love poem constructed of only four letter words or less. If you enjoy writing like this, you’ll find tons on my profile with plenty more to come—so be sure to subscribe or pledge for updates 😊 you can follow me on Facebook to stay in touch and up to date with all my weird and whacky online stuff. I hope to see you over there!

My Other Entries

sad poetrylove poemsheartbreak
10

About the Creator

Gary Ragnarsson

Deep thinker, stoic, and writer from the UK, sharing everything from philosophical insights to my most intimate, personal stories.

In a world consumed by chasing more, I’m over here embracing less on purpose.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Poppy 10 months ago

    Simply gorgeous poem. I especially connected with the line: " from that pain I know, That the love we have is real."

  • Veronica Coldiron10 months ago

    I think this was my favorite 😍

  • The structure and flow of this were outstanding Great job 👏🏽

  • Great job Gary!!! Surely, this must be a winner!!!

  • The Dani Writer10 months ago

    The purity of sentiment infused here is a solid foundation. Felt it.

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Lovely!!! Love this!!!♥️♥️💕

  • if only...great poem

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    Well done, Gary. Good luck in the challenge!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.