Poets logo

If Only They Knew

Get well soon

By L. J. Knight Published 3 years ago 1 min read
2
If Only They Knew
Photo by Martha Dominguez de Gouveia on Unsplash

Sick with the flu?

If only they knew

Scabs on these wrists

My story has a twist

All these cards and letters

Wishing get wells and get betters

And sure I'm in hospital gowns

Nurses making their rounds

But what you didn't know

No one will let me go

Some people call me crazy

And this is where things get a little hazy

Cause I guess I'm sick

Although you might prefer lunatic

The illness I've got is in my head

And I just couldn't take all the things the demons said

My emotions went away

Thought they could call it a day

And leave me empty, broken, and numb

Yet you wonder why I'm done

With this life, I was through

And all that went with it too

This pain was too much

Why not let death have its lunch

Sick with the flu?

Yeah, if only you knew

Would you take back all those get well soon's

Decide to waste your time on another hospital room

Or would you stick around?

Even when I broke down

And help me stand back up

Tell me I'd always be enough

It's not your usual get well soon

People like me, we sing another tune

But I hope you can take to heart

The message I've left with you to part

And these few little words that mean so much

And all the hearts I hope they touch

inspirational
2

About the Creator

L. J. Knight

I'm the girl who writes poetry in coffee shops, who walks the halls with a book under her nose, lost in her thoughts. I'm the girl with the quiet voice and the smart eyes, the one who dreams for the moon and hopes to land among stars.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.