Poets logo

If Only They Knew

A Song of Worship

By D.S. FisichellaPublished 9 days ago 2 min read
Top Story - June 2024
If Only They Knew
Photo by NATHAN MULLET on Unsplash

If only they knew

Who lifts this song of praise to You

Lord, if only they knew

They see the outside, but what's true is...

You pulled me out of a pit

You pulled my feet from the mire

I was the woman in sin

I had the heart of a liar

I was naked and wretched and blind

And the whole time I thought I was fine

Oh, if only they knew

Who lifts this song of praise to You

But I want them to know

The God who's worthy of my soul

And I'll lift up my voice

I know it's broken, but I'm whole

Cause You pulled me out of a pit

You pulled my feet from the mire

I was the woman in sin

I had the heart of a liar

But you clothed me and caused me to see

You changed my heart, now I believe

God, I want them to know

That Jesus lives in me

You are worth every song

It's broken but it won't be long

Before I stand in front

Of your Glory on that Throne

May I worship you now

The way I will worship in Heaven

When I renew my vow

To follow you Lord God forever

Leaving all else behind

Lord, I was naked and blind

Oh If Only They knew....

That's why I lift this song to You!

You are Worthy, it's True...

That's why I lift this song to You.

________________________

A Word From the Author:

"...Therefore I tell you, her sins, which are many, are forgiven—for she loved much. But he who is forgiven little, loves little.” Luke 7:47

Well-meaning individuals often approach me after they've heard me sing and they compliment me on my voice or the way that I worship, and if I can be honest, internally I cringe. The thought always enters my head:

'If only you knew.'

The Bible tells the story of a woman who, riddled with sin, fell at the feet of Jesus and wept, washing his feet with her tears and wiping them with her hair. Many of the people present were disgusted at her act of worship because not only did she do this, but she anointed his feet with her most valuable possession, a very expensive perfume. It was a gruesome display to those watching, but Jesus, knowing and understanding the heart behind it, forgave her many sins.

I am convinced that if people knew the sins of my past, they would look at me as they did that woman. They would ask themselves: "How does she have the nerve to worship that way at Jesus' feet?" But I am grateful today that Jesus, who knows my heart, has forgiven me. And like that woman, I will willingly pour out the most valuable thing that I have... for what she poured out that day wasn't really perfume.

It was her heart.

If you enjoyed this piece by D.S. Fisichella, be sure to check out more of her work here on Vocal or visit: https://dsfwrites.carrd.co

inspirationalSong Lyrics

About the Creator

D.S. Fisichella

Writing is a vulnerable experience, but I'm grateful to have a voice. Be it fiction (for the imagination), poetry (for the soul) or non-fiction... it is all an art form to me. Thank you for reading and making my words worth sharing.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • T. Licht3 days ago

    congrats on Top Story, I love God and Faith poems they should write more poems about it.

  • This is more beautiful than reading the bible because you a more personal relationship with God. Thank you for sharing this.

  • D.K. Shepard6 days ago

    Beautiful poem of worship to God! Thank you for sharing, D.S.!

  • TahimaAni6 days ago

    beautiful

  • Kathy Tsoukalas6 days ago

    This is beautiful and inspiring - a wonderful praise to God! I absolutely love when I see Christians express themselves openly.

  • Ameer Bibi9 days ago

    Waht a piece of writing you have written Truly commendable I really like this kinda praise to God

D.S. FisichellaWritten by D.S. Fisichella

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.