Poets logo

Stained Glass Window

A Song of Worship

By D.S. FisichellaPublished 21 days ago 2 min read
Stained Glass Window
Photo by Adrien Olichon on Unsplash

Lord as much as I wish that I had it together

Your Grace was once shown when you parted the sea

Sometimes I feel like a fabric unraveling

But a veil was once torn and it changed history!

Make my life like a stained glass window

So others may see you through my brokenness

Shine your light through my stained glass window

Until that day when you call me to rest.

My cup’s full of fear that spills over the edges

But you once spilled your blood

And your blood set me free

At times I feel lost and like death is around me

But you conquered the grave and you claimed victory!

Make my life like a stained glass window

So others may see you through my brokenness

Shine your light through my stained glass window

Until that day when you call me to rest.

I may be broken but you have the pieces

Each is a color that speaks of your Might

Make me transparent so the world sees you through me

Shine through me, Jesus and give me your light.

Make my life like a stained glass window

So others may see you through my brokenness

Shine your light through my stained glass window

Until that day when you call me to rest.

All my weaknesses right now

Are all helping me somehow

Someday I’ll be whole

But I’m glad to know

Today I’m a stained glass window.

________________________

From the Author:

Often overwhelmed by my own lack of stability and wholeness, I sat down to pen the words of this song over two years ago after I realized the Holy Book I looked to often painted pictures of brokenness and lackluster individuals in a favorable light. See, I was called to be a Christian not because I am perfect, but rather, because only Jesus can make me into something that I am not.

I am not strong, but He works in my weaknesses. I am not brave, but He puts me in positions where I have to rely on Him to make me courageous. I am not whole, but He makes up for my imperfections. I am a Christian because I need Jesus. That is what the lyrics to this song are all about. I am grateful that I serve a God that makes a way through the sea and brings dry bones to life. If he can restore what everyone else has rejected, then I know He can make something beautiful out of all my brokenness.

If you enjoyed this piece by D.S. Fisichella, be sure to check out more of her work here on Vocal or visit: https://dsfwrites.carrd.co

Song LyricsBallad

About the Creator

D.S. Fisichella

Writing is a vulnerable experience. Be it fiction (for the imagination), poetry (for the soul) or non-fiction... it is all an art form to me. Thank you for reading and making my words worth sharing. www.dsfwrites.carrd.co

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Ameer Bibi21 days ago

    Very well written Impressed me a lot

  • These lines were so deep and poignantly beautiful. I loved it so much!

  • Congrats on it.

D.S. FisichellaWritten by D.S. Fisichella

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.