Poets logo

The Well

A Desperate Sort Of Song

By D.S. FisichellaPublished 24 days ago 1 min read
The Well
Photo by Frank Albrecht on Unsplash

My heart is like an ocean

Tossed to and fro by wind

My mind is like a battle

That I can never win

My soul is tired of sighing

My eyes of tears are full

But words cannot come near to

Express all that I feel

My feeble knees are shaking

My wet face to the floor

And yet I cannot utter

A single phrase that's sure

I tear up every garment

With bitter heat and hate

Wishing it were my memory

I could destroy instead

My hateful mind is brewing

Like thunder in a cloud

It threatens storms are coming

But I cover my mouth

Oh God in heaven, hear me

I know I cannot speak

But Holy Spirit know me

Remember I am weak

Pray for me, oh my Jesus

There's no good thing in me

But in you I find pardon

So why don't I feel free?

Forgive me oh my Jesus

I do not wish to moan

But what more can I do when

I'm feeling so alone?

If all's not how it seems, Lord

Please bring me clarity

Please purge my heart of darkness

Fill me with purity

Oh speak into the storm that

Is raging in my heart

Please calm the wind and waves, Lord, bring peace to me at last

The war inside my mind, God

Can end in victory

If only you could bind up

My heart and soul to Thee

And as you spoke to lame men

And made the blind to see

Lord, speak your words again and

Raise me to victory

I do not wish to conquer

A land, or dream of wealth

I ask you only this Lord,

Draw me near to Yourself

Don't ever let me go, Lord

Without you life is Hell

I pant for Living Water

Lord, meet me at the well.

performance poetryStream of ConsciousnessSong Lyricssad poetry

About the Creator

D.S. Fisichella

Writing is a vulnerable experience. Be it fiction (for the imagination), poetry (for the soul) or non-fiction... it is all an art form to me. Thank you for reading and making my words worth sharing. www.dsfwrites.carrd.co

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • Esala Gunathilake24 days ago

    Hats off to your talent.

  • Ameer Bibi24 days ago

    Loved the use of words Hierarchy is commendable

  • angela hepworth24 days ago

    Powerful work!

  • This was so poignant and emotional. Loved your poem!

  • shanmuga priya24 days ago

    The lines....I ask you only this Lord, Draw me near to Yourself...I like the most... impressive writing...

D.S. FisichellaWritten by D.S. Fisichella

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.