Poets logo

If I was born with

Mountains and Deserts: The Rivers In-between

By SchmalzPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

If I was born with a pen in my hand

I’d look my life over and write it again

A story of love captured by you

I’d write lessons that life demands

Maybe then this thought wouldn’t be left in my hand

To shake hands with the devil and take my leave

Not always waiting for the nastry trick up his sleeve

If I was born with a pen in my hand and written it down again

The pain and sorrow would deliver me

To a place in time where I could always see

Eyes wide open to see what would become of me

A new journey of life electrified to begin

Nothing left but a pen in hand and a dream in mind

And if I was born with a paintbrush in hand

I would’ve painted a beautiful mountain scene

With a lazy river carving its way downstream

A bed of roses with a bridge cutting over the scene

And that lucky old sun would be setting down on me

With the peak beyond the heavens and the stars

Seeing there is no inbetween life would be a dream

With your hand in mine holding onto the life we have seen

Far away from all the tragedy

Where that shady grove has a spot waiting for you and me

To ponder the wonders of everywhere we’d been

I could see the universe in your eyes how playful would that be

Would you sit and wait for me

And if I was born with a banjo in my hand

I would form the sweetest melody

One that calls out from me

A broken heart that mends

Through each chord and each string

Sounds of bells singing the breeze

Chimes of victory one of ecstasy

The songbirds would join in the tune

With the grace of life a humble noon

What a sweet parody all would dance

Where the sourest grape turns to the sweetest wine

Learn to sing this song

Where it speaks of truth

A life to share just me and you

A whistle stop left rhythms that suit

Realities of life reflected in tune

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Schmalz

Welcome to my page! I am a writer whose interests are vast and believes in the art of the word. In my writing you will find Non-Fiction, Fiction, and poetry in pursuit of the value of language.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.