Poets logo

If I Had a Dog

I'm Prepared

By Judey Kalchik Published 8 months ago 1 min read
24
photo provided by https://pixabay.com/users/dannaragrim-5924518/

If I had a dog I think I would call him Robert.

Unless he was an Irish Setter.

Then I would call him Finian.

It's unlikely that I will have a dog,

but I kinda feel like I have one right now,

just a wee bit,

because I now have a name picked out.

I like being prepared.

Now I can call for Robert/Finian,

and if no dog appears I can pretend he is asleep.

That's right, asleep.

Because he would come to me when I called.

That's just how Robert/Finian is.

We understand each other.

Good dog.

~~

This poem is based on a Facebook post I made 11 years ago.

I still don't have a dog. The photo I used does, I believe, portray how delighted Finian would be to come to me when I call him.

If I had a dog. A dog that was an Irish Setter.

But I'd probably get a Golden Retriever.

Still.

I do have more poems, though, and you can find them here.

~~~

Please leave a comment. Any comment. Could be about poems, dogs, psychosis, places to see in Portland OR, how to fall back asleep at 3 AM, favorite cheeses.

Thank you!

humor
24

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (20)

Sign in to comment
  • Stephanie Hoogstad2 months ago

    This is such a cute poem. If you were to get a dog…IF…might I suggest the hybrid mix of a Golden Irish (Golden Retriever/Irish Setter mix)? My mom had one and he was the best dog in the world. Regardless, this was a nice poem that made me smile.

  • ThatWriterWoman7 months ago

    I love this! I adore how you gave the dog an understanding of yourself! Brilliant!

  • Cendrine Marrouat8 months ago

    Dogs are the best! Nice poem, Judey!

  • I love my dog, although she drives me bonkers most of the time. She has made my life quite a bit more interesting, lol.

  • Cathy holmes8 months ago

    Lol. That wad fun. I think you should get a dog and call him Old Cheddar after my favourite cheese. Hang on. Would that be psychotic?

  • Lol 😆 you had me at Robert🐕‍🦺

  • Berry Driven8 months ago

    My favorite cheese is provolone mixed with gouda. As you think there for you are so you have your dog.

  • Jay Kantor8 months ago

    j ~ (3) Syllable Dog names to get their attention may be too late to get them out to do their business; just sayin' - Fun - j

  • Rachel Deeming8 months ago

    Made me laugh. It's all in the planning!

  • This was a great fun read, thank you for sharing your canine creation with us

  • Finian is a great name for an Irish Setter. And now that you have a name....

  • Mariann Carroll8 months ago

    We know what kind of dog you will get, lol. This was such a cute poem . I had a stubborn dog just like a cat so he had to go to dog school 😂😍

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Great poem!

  • And here I am trying to avoid adopting a dog I've been the caretaker for for 3 years (she's had 3 different owners). Currently she's with me for 2 weeks while the current owner is waiting for their new place. Everyone just keeps saying, "You know that's your dog right?" or "Here comes Duchess' real mommy"...meaning me. SMH. I prefer cats and smaller animals like rodents, birds and fish. Lovely poem that let's me know you're in the market for a dog!

  • Paul Stewart8 months ago

    Aw this is adorable, Judey and I don't say that lightly! Splendid and I love the free and easy imaginative style of this - allowing your thoughts and dreams to ponder! Well done, Judey! My oldest is called Robert. So yeah, great name choice! Finian is nice too!

  • J. S. Wade8 months ago

    Love the name Finian. Do you set out for him? He might come if you do. 😎

  • My heart is bursting at the cuteness of this. Why did we all get told make believe is only for young kids?!?! I was thinking about this today.. we need to give ourselves permission to indulge our child imagination…. Because we were never lonely or sad when we had that!! 🙈

  • Mother Combs8 months ago

    I have 5. way too many. I'll share them with you.

  • Rene Peters8 months ago

    Dogs are a requirement for happiness! (Not really, but they do help.)

  • Matthew Fromm8 months ago

    as someone with a dog named Robert, I strongly recommend getting a dog named Robert.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.