Poets logo

If I Give a Space Glob a Crayon

Will it be for food, art, or war?

By Rebecca MortonPublished 8 months ago β€’ Updated 8 months ago β€’ 2 min read
Second Place in Extraterrestrial Challenge
26
If I Give a Space Glob a Crayon
Photo by Arya Meher on Unsplash

When my toddler's chubby hands

Began to hit and hurl,

I gave her colored magic wands

That opened up her world.

.

These crayons helped her make her mark

On paper, books, and walls,

On cups and plates and arms and legs

Of all her baby dolls.

.

Since then, she's learned to draw and write

And color inside the lines.

She can make the shapes and alphabet

(The print and cursive kind).

.

I still have crayons in my purse

In case my child gets bored,

But she doesn't need them much these days.

She's almost twenty-four.

.

Then, last week, I was happy

That I had crayons nearby.

As I sat on a park bench one morning,

An avocado-sized glob fell from the sky!

.

It had two eyes on its slimy green front

And a hole below them for a mouth.

It skittered toward me, growling.

I felt things were going south!

.

As it hopped up on my bench, I opened my purse

And pulled out my Ziploc crayon bag.

I held out a yellow-green crayon,

Which it took with its mouth, starting to gag.

.

As I riffled through my purse for paper,

The glob started batting my arm

With the yellow-green crayon like a baby,

Not doing me any harm.

.

I put a tiny notebook page

In front of the glob next to me.

I drew a heart on it with a red crayon,

Which the glob leaned over to see.

.

Then, after watching me draw more hearts,

The glob drew lots of yellow-green

Squiggles with dots all around,

Just like toddler scribbles I'd seen.

.

Soon, Globby and I were drawing together!

I showed how to make circles and lines,

Until I saw a ten foot high purple glob,

Skittering toward us through the pines.

.

If anyone finds this paper,

I wrote this poem in red

As the purple glob carried me and Globby

To a large egg-shaped metal shed.

.

It's silver, gold, and periwinkle,

Like the best crayons in the box.

I'll throw this paper out on the grass now

Before the shed door locks...

humor
26

About the Creator

Rebecca Morton

An older Gen X-er, my childhood was surrounded by theatre people. My adulthood has been surrounded by children, first my students, then my own, and now more students! You can also find me on Medium here: https://medium.com/@becklesjm

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (17)

Sign in to comment
  • Flamance @ lit.25 days ago

    Congratulations πŸ₯³ top story

  • Deasun T. Smyth7 months ago

    Congrats on your second place! πŸπŸ’―πŸ˜πŸ‘ This was creative and fun to read.

  • Paul Stewart7 months ago

    Congratulations on your placing in the challenge, can totally see why this was picked. Loved the innocence of it all and the wonder. The rhymes were delightful and I loved the fact that the MC is whisked off on some adventures, hopefully! Well done!

  • Novel Allen7 months ago

    Oh so wonderfully creative Rebecca. Truly alien and earthling joint venture. I hope you make it out alive, one mother should understand another. Kudos on you win. Nicely done.

  • PK Colleran7 months ago

    Love it! Congratulations on your very creative story πŸ’šπŸ’šπŸ’šπŸ’š.

  • Haha πŸ˜‚ This is Awesome πŸ“βœ¨ and Deserves a Win πŸ† πŸŽ‰πŸ˜‰Congratulations❗❗❗❗

  • Joyce O’Day7 months ago

    Congratulations on your win! Great story!

  • The Dani Writer7 months ago

    Sweet poem Rebecca! Hearty congratulations on your win! I hope this gave you plenty to smile about. Great job!

  • Lynn Jordan7 months ago

    Congratulations! Cute and vivid :)

  • Babs Iverson7 months ago

    Congratulations!!!

  • Dana Crandell7 months ago

    A wonderful tale! Congratulations on the win!

  • Raymond G. Taylor7 months ago

    Brilliant! Fantastic choice of object to demonstrate humanity's propensity to speak with lines and color. Congratulations on your win

  • Addison M7 months ago

    Delightful and positive. Excellent work. Congrats on the win.

  • Alison McBain7 months ago

    Love how you tell a whole story in your poem. Congrats on the win!

  • Lamar Wiggins7 months ago

    Congrats!!! I loved your poem!

  • Cathy holmes7 months ago

    Nicely done. Congrats

  • Lol, this was so funny! Brilliant work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.