Poets logo

Where are the Stairs?

An existential cat poem

By Rebecca MortonPublished about a year ago Updated 8 months ago 1 min read
3
Where are the Stairs?
Photo by Madalyn Cox on Unsplash

We moved our cat to our new apartment.

She spent the first two days under things.

.

Then she came out and walked around.

She found the food and water bowls

And the place to relieve herself

And then went back under things.

.

Now, a week later, she runs back and forth,

Peering into every corner,

Looking for the stairs

That are no longer here.

.

The furniture is the same as our old house.

It smells the same

And we smell the same,

“But where are the stairs?”

She must be asking herself.

.

There were stairs going up

And stairs going down

And things happening above and below

In our home we all shared before.

.

But isn’t that all of us here on Earth?

Eating, drinking, looking for relief,

Vaguely recalling something more,

.

Walking, looking up and down,

Trying to find the stairs?

____________________________________________________

This poem was originally published on Medium.com.

sad poetry
3

About the Creator

Rebecca Morton

My childhood was surrounded by theatre people. My adulthood has been surrounded by children! You can also find me on Medium here: https://medium.com/@becklesjm, and now I have a Substack newsletter at https://rebeccamorton.substack.com/

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Flamance @ lit.about a month ago

    Awesome story I like it congratulations 🎉🎉

  • Jay Kantor9 months ago

    Dear Ms.Rebecca - So glad that I've just discovered your amazing work/and lovely headings. *I've been scrolling them and I've subscribed to you with pleasure. Rebecca, I'm not a self-promoter nor do I enter contests or count stats. I'm just a retired legal professional that has morphed into a self described Goof-Writer; nothing more. Ah, but, here's the "but." I enjoy your 'original' creations - a rarity among our current crop of 'StoryTellers' - you are very appreciated. btw; I've written a (3) minute cat/dog tail-tell on behalf of - Pet Haven Minnesota - 'Rescue' - The Director is very much a cat person; that's what caught my eye with your 'Stairs' So nice that they've received so many ReHome Adoptions from this silly little (3) minute short. The Power of our Pens, Rebecca. - With my Respect - Jay Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal Author Community -

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.