Poets logo

I Wish I Knew You Better

Goodbye, Uncle

By Manisha DhalaniPublished 17 days ago β€’ 1 min read
Top Story - June 2024
I Wish I Knew You Better
Photo by Dominik Scythe on Unsplash

.I wish I knew you better

My own uncle

My mother's flesh and blood

And mine, too, I suppose

But you've always been far

Far from sight, far from reach,

Never too far from mind, I must say.

I hear stories about you

Childhood stories that mum tells me

About your mischief

About your early exit from the family nucleus

How you set up your own successes

Build your own little life

How you're always elusive evasive

But never unkind.

How you'd shower me and my sister

With chocolates and gifts

Things we never asked for

And yet you gave

For you had a heart of gold.

One that not many understood

I see a lot of me in you

A kind person with strict boundaries

A kind, misunderstood person

A creative mind

A go-getter

But never one to forget family

You would touch base with everyone

When it was needed

But never invade in another's life or privacy

You were far

But now that you're gone

You're even further away from reach.

I'm sorry you had to go so soon

I'm sorry I didn't try to get to know you better

I'm sorry I can't be there

I'm sorry I didn't shed as many tears

When I heard of your passing

Because somewhere deep down

All I could think of was how unfair it was

That I didn't get to know you better

That I didn't know you enough

To wail in sorrow

My heart is filled with misery

I grieve quietly

For you will be missed, dear Uncle.

By many.

Some near, but many far.

sad poetrylove poemsheartbreakFree VerseFamily

About the Creator

Manisha Dhalani

Content writer and marketer helping solopreneurs achieve organic growth. Loves reading, eating cake, and having insightful conversations.

www.manishadhalani.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (21)

  • Muralia day ago

    One of the most emotional poem I've ever read is about the relatives we have in life. There is one type of person who holds a special place in our hearts, like your uncle. I'm sorry that you miss him so much, but he will always be in your heart. I also have such a good person in my life; he is my uncle too. He is such a kind person, like your uncle. We are all glad to have such a great person in our lives.

  • Babs Iverson12 days ago

    Exquisitely written and loved it!!!πŸ’•β€οΈβ€οΈ Congratulations on Top Story too!!!

  • Renner Walter14 days ago

    I am indeed filled with satisfaction and joy at the moment, my credit profile is as good as ever. Initially, I thought it won’t be possible but with the help of XAP CREDIT SOLUTION having a high FICO score, clean records and all traces of late payments gone. I recommend XAP to you all. Contact them now for all types of credit repair, CHEX system or DUI Fix (XAPCREDITSOLUTION at GMAIL dot COM). Thank me later!

  • Appreciate your work.

  • Shirley Belk16 days ago

    A beautiful tribute to a very interesting man. I'm sure he "saw" you and it meant the world to him. Congratulations on your Top Story, too.

  • Anu Mehjabin17 days ago

    Thank you for sharing such a heartfelt piece.πŸ’ And congrats on your top storyπŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰

  • Andrea Corwin 17 days ago

    Oh, I'm sorry for your loss of your uncle. I liked how you said "But never invade in another's life or privacy." He sounds like he was a kind and loving man. Congrats on the TS, Manisha!

  • Raihana H.17 days ago

    I'm sorry for your loss. Thank you for sharing this piece with us. I can feel how hurt you are.

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! πŸŽ‰πŸ’–πŸŽŠπŸŽ‰πŸ’–πŸŽŠ

  • GloriaπŸ’ž17 days ago

    I can totally relate I've been here before but I promise you it gets better ❀️

  • Awesome writing, keep it up!

  • Margaret Brennan17 days ago

    Congratulations on TS. That said, sorry for your loss; I can relate what you're feeling. Before I married (at age 19) my only brother was drafted and sent to Nam. After the war, he settled in VA so we never much of him; he preferred it that way. On a rare occasion, he'd travel to NY to visit his pre-war friends (some of which died in Nam) and our family. One day, my older son, he was 13 at the time, saw my brother in the park and walked over to say hello. He was crushed because my brother didn't recognize him. I explained what happened and my son understood, but it was still a sad day. Here we are 30 years after my brother died and my son still talks about his uncle he never go to know.

  • Christy Munson17 days ago

    I offer my condolences. Lovely writing for a sad loss.

  • The Dani Writer17 days ago

    A difficult poem to write (and read) and an even more difficult time for you and your family. Sending you every solace 🌻🌼🌻 *And keep writing if it helps*

  • Kendall Defoe 17 days ago

    It is always hard when those family ties remain untied and we lose the ones we should have held close. Selah.

  • I'm sorry for your loss. You've written something that I think most people can, in some sense, relate to. Wishing you knew someone better is such a hard feeling to manage. Congrats on the Top Story though!

  • Belle17 days ago

    Beautifully written. I've been feeling this way too, in the face of grief, that we miss out on chances we didn't realize we had or even think about, until it's gone. I'm so sorry for your loss ❀️

  • Hannah Moore17 days ago

    I'm sorry - always stings to realise we have missed our chance for something more.

  • Kageno Hoshino17 days ago

    May he rest in peace

  • I'm so sorry for your loss Manisha πŸ₯Ί Sending you lots of love and hugs ❀️

  • shanmuga priya17 days ago

    I can feel the deep bond you share with your uncle .Each word resonates with geniune affection... Truly touching poem ..

Manisha DhalaniWritten by Manisha Dhalani

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.