Poets logo

I'm on a Time Limit

I'm thinking...

By Donna Fox (HKB)Published 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 2 min read
20
I'm on a Time Limit
Photo by Ian Schneider on Unsplash

I’m thinking about quitting.

I’m thinking about deleting it all and not coming back.

I’m thinking about working on my hundreds of unfinished pieces.

I’m thinking about how good it would feel to actually finish them.

I’m thinking about actually seeking a publisher and how scary that will be.

I’m thinking about stepping out of my comfort zone and actually following the dream.

I’m thinking about what the best way to push myself to the next level is.

I’m thinking about how different my life will be without all of you.

I’m thinking about how hard it will be to say goodbye to all of you.

Don’t worry, I’m just thinking about it...

For now.

Authors note:

I ended last year with so many hopes and dreams and thoughst on the big plans I had for myself and climbing the ladder of success. I had so many pieces that I thought I'd publish on here but now seem less promising with the idea that they would be meant for here alone and would eventually end up in my graveyard.

Sometimes this thought is only temporary, but as I walked though Indigo/ Chapters this morning I realized that the only person standing in my way of my own success is me. And that the only person who can overcome this obstacle is me.

If I really want to be a published author, I need to start making some sacrafices and that might mean stepping back from Vocal.

Now, I know I could just take a small step back but that's just not my style. I'm an all or nothing kind of girl (just as my husband).

So that leads me to this piece I have just left you, the idea of leaving and giving chase to my dreams...

It will take some time to transfer all of my work into hard copies and delete the from the account so I still have time to chicken out. But for now, I just wanted to let you all know that I care for you very much and this decision doesn't come easily.

I appreciate each of you more than I can say,

Donna Fox (HKB)

Stream of Consciousnesssocial commentarysad poetryheartbreakGratitudeFriendshipFree Verse
20

About the Creator

Donna Fox (HKB)

Thank you for stopping by!! 💚💙💜🩵

If you are interested in longer works by me, I have two books published on Amazon.

Jogger's Trail and Fox in The Hole.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (19)

Sign in to comment
  • Test4 months ago

    I've been thinking pretty much the same thing Donna, hear loudly! Whatever you end up doing, I wish you so, so much success and hope you reach your goals and dreams! 🤍

  • ThatWriterWoman4 months ago

    I hope that you don't go forever Donna, but I am so glad you are thinking of yourself first! You deserve to be published!! I can't wait to see what you do next - here on vocal or otherwise!

  • Real Poetic4 months ago

    I was greatly sad thinking of you disappearing from the platform. I really hope you don’t decide to go. I love to read your work, and you’re an incredible person that is always so supportive. I wish you well in your writing journey. I’m sure you will find the success you are searching for, but remember you already have so much work to be proud of! ❤️

  • Dana Crandell4 months ago

    Well, I've already said this in another thread, but I'm glad to know we won't be losing you. I can certainly understand the need to step back and that may, in the long run, be exactly what I do in the coming months. I'm also creating local hard copies of all of my Vocal stories, for various reasons. Sooner or later, we have to put some effort into becoming published, no? And in keeping with my promise to keep helping with what I can, "hoe scary" is an interesting concept, but I think it might not be what you meant? ;)

  • Alexander McEvoy4 months ago

    I don't want to see you go, Donna ;-; But I understand and support you so much. You have to do what is best for you and your dreams. Personally, I think you can still pursue those dreams while maintaining your presence here. It might even be a good pressure release valve for you as you pursue a traditional publishing route. As Dharr said, i hope you don't delete the account completely. speaking selfishly, I would lose all your stories and your beautiful and wonderful comments! You've made this past year so incredible for me, and I would hate to loose that. You are the only person who knows what is right for you and I fully accept and embrace whatever choice you make. I just hope you look back and think kindly of us when you're rich and famous :) Your friendly fellow Canadian is sending all the love in the world, whatever you decide <3

  • Selfishly I want you to stay. But I get it. Trying to get published is a job by itself. I hope you do stay but if not I hope we can be friends on Facebook or the like. Whatever you decide I wish you the best

  • I, too, have grappled back and forth on what my goals are, how this platform fits into them, *does* this platform fit into them, etc. There was a time 2-3 years distant where my writing was much less "socialized." On the one hand, platforms like Vocal (or *cough* Medium) offer much more immediate feedback. On the other hand, I find myself sometimes cutting corners and not giving pieces as much of an editing cycle as I should in the interest of getting the next story onto the platform. The gratification of seeing people like and comment in real time creates a feedback loop, just like other forms of social media. Publishing rights also conflicts me. On the one hand, I'd love to have many of these stories to sell as originals. On the other hand, I wouldn't have a podcast or be pursuing Kindle Direct Publishing if I didn't have a wealth of stories that I retained first publish rights for, forcing me to be creative in how I repurpose them. Plus, many (if not *all*) of these stories wouldn't exist without the challenges that prompted them. So, I don't think I can step away fully, at least not until I focus on longer form content exclusively. Right now my brain is too wired to jump between genres and styles to match the next fiction challenge they release. I'm slowly trying to retool my writing process. But, all that said, the only person who can truly know what is right for you... is you. I think you would certainly find more focus time without having to take time to respond to comments, read others' articles, and write challenge entries. The question is if you would enjoy writing as much without these components in the long term

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    I agree with what others have said. You have to do what's best for you. Maybe taking a break, or stepping back for a while. You will be missed. That said, I wish you success in your publishing plans, or dreams. You're a great writer and you deserve it.

  • Grz Colm4 months ago

    I’m with Donna… take a break if that is what you feel like you need to do…I.e get the free vocal subscription etc for a time… but then still visit us! You make me laugh, are very supportive and we would miss you. Being half assed is so in right now! ;0) Anyway time to think it over. Best sent your way HKB! 😁😊

  • I was so happy to see this in Poets because it's been quite long since you published a poem. But your poem kinda broke me. No, not kinda, it broke me a lot. Yet another person that I have to let go off 🥺 But I'm an all or nothing kinda girl too so I totally understand what you mean. I only have one request though. Please don't delete your account and stories. Because that would also erase all your comments and our conversations and there wouldn't even be any trace of you for me to hold on to. I wouldn't be able to read your stories or our comment conversations when I miss you. It'll be like you never existed because everything would be gone. So please, if you do leave, let your profile still be up. You can cancel the V+ membership and sign out. Please at least let me have this of you because I don't have any way of being in contact with you apart from Vocal 😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭

  • Manisha Dhalani4 months ago

    Donna, wow. I understand this feeling. You do what you have to do and we wish you all the best! Will hope you keep writing here because you're so talented!

  • Donna Renee4 months ago

    I completely understand you here, and I am cheering for you to GO GET YOUR DREAMS! But, please come back and visit at least?❤❤❤❤

  • As a 'Newby'... I will miss you, your great stories and encouragement, but it would be wonderful to read your published work!

  • Kendall Defoe 4 months ago

    A lot to think about... Look, whatever you feel you need to do, do it. It's a new year, so it is a time for change. But you will be missed...

  • Lamar Wiggins4 months ago

    Yes! Sometimes it's best to do more than entertain the thoughts. You will know when it's time. From what I know, you've already taken a giant step by publishing The Jogger's Trail, which I may add is a phenomenal story. Best of luck in your decisions and keep us in the loop. Thank you and happy new yr.

  • Mother Combs4 months ago

    You have to do what is best for you

  • I have been contemplating the same. This site and the encouragement received here are invaluable, but you need to do what is best for your ultimate pursuits.

  • Lana V Lynx4 months ago

    I have similar thoughts all the time, Donna. But I also have my main job that keeps me really busy so I don’t have enough time and guts to pursue publishers. But I also think that if you believe in yourself you can totally do it. Whatever happens, I wish you good luck.

  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    We will miss you if you go. We will be here when you come back.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.