Poets logo

Come in and Meet the Family

The first thing I'd introduce to an alien that showed up on my doorstep.

By Donna Fox (HKB)Published 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 1 min read
12
Come in and Meet the Family
Photo by Razvan Mirel on Unsplash

Welcome little green man

I’m your biggest fan

Please come in and meet the fam!

I have so many companion

We call these the floofs

One, two and three

The youngest is a doof

The oldest most friendly

The girl doesn’t care for many

Picky about her allegiance

But never friends with Chenny

Their relation a bit tense

Come and meet the danger mouse

By far the cutest

And the smallest in our house

But also the rudest

My prickly friend

Likes to bite

If you don’t listen

And hold him tight

So there you have it

My entire family

I hope you find them fit

For happier we can’t be

What’s that?

Whose this?

Ignore the man in the hat

My husband that is

Not important here

Just the guy that drinks all my beer

This is Carter (Chenny) the oldest boy!

This is Faye, our girl cat!

This is Rickie, you might remember him from "My Dragon Slayer". He's our youngest boy cat!

This is our danger mouse (hedghog), his name is sonic!

A note from the author:

You ask what’s the first thing I’d show an alien, the same thing I show anyone who shows up to my house… my family.

Thank you for the read and I hope you enjoyed the pictures of my fur-babies! 💜

social commentarylove poems
12

About the Creator

Donna Fox (HKB)

Thank you for stopping by!! 💚💙💜🩵

If you are interested in longer works by me, I have two books published on Amazon.

Jogger's Trail and Fox in The Hole.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • The Invisible Writer6 months ago

    I can't believe I missed this. The poem was great. I actually went looking for a poem of yours because I hadn't seen one in a while. And this was a treat. Loved the pics. I have three cats as well Chippie Dippy (though most of the time his name is shortened to Chip), Honey, and Yoshi. And I love that you have a hedgehog named Sonic. My six year old has a Sonic the hedgehog poster in her room.

  • Babs Iverson6 months ago

    Fabulously written!!! Loved it!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Grz Colm8 months ago

    Aw so cute. I wasn’t expecting this at the end Donna!! ☺️👏

  • ThatWriterWoman9 months ago

    Oh I ADORE this! I love how you describe your dogs so much!! Very well done!

  • L.C. Schäfer9 months ago

    Sounds like the hatted guy knows his place 🤪

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    Well, I loved the piece, but I feel a bit bad for the guy in the hat. LOL great job, Donna!

  • When you said that's your entire family, I was like is she not gonna mention her husband? And then you did mention him, telling the alien to ignore than man in the hat and that he's someone that just drinks your beer! 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 Ahhhhh! I didn't know you have a hedgehog!!!! Sonic is sooooo cute! Does he get along with Rickie, Faye and Carter? This was such a fun poem! I truly enjoyed reading this! 🥰🥰🥰

  • Real Poetic9 months ago

    I love this! It really lifted my spirits. The flow is so smooth and playful. Thanks for sharing.

  • Novel Allen9 months ago

    You have a hedgehog? Does it walk round the house? I love Faye, she looks like a painted portrait, she looks mad at everyone. I love beer, hubby is my fave for drinking all the beer. Bitter and so wonderful when cold. This is wonderful Donna, hope the alien don't eat little people. 😏🤔💜🥰.

  • Andrei Z.9 months ago

    Oo, I wasn't expecting that ending, funny! Love your family! Especially the danger mouse. On the photo it loooks like Sonic is plotting something (against whom??) Do they all get along well?

  • ema9 months ago

    What a family! Great job! ( Poor husband though 😂)

  • Rachel Deeming9 months ago

    I just hope your alien visitors aren't insect shaped. Great read, Donna!

  • Alexander McEvoy9 months ago

    This was super fun! I loved the reference to an ouch mouse :) All of your pets are so cute!! Lol, Alex drinks all your beer 🍻

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.