Poets logo

An Ode to My Breakfast

Open for interpretation.

By Donna Fox (HKB)Published 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 1 min read
20
An Ode to My Breakfast
Photo by Vlad Deep on Unsplash

My eyes danced in excitement,

As my fingers found the spot.

I breathed heavily,

as I pulled at the cover.

Peeling it away,

And revealing your firm bareness.

I licked my lips hungry,

Holding your flesh in my hand.

Bringing it to my lips,

Your juices squirted everywhere.

Dripping down my chin,

As I devoured every inch.

Near the end,

I sucked the centre,

Looking for one last juicy morsel.

Finished,

I licked my fingers clean in satisfaction.

Authors Note:

This poem came to me over a rather messy encounter at breakfast after I had read Naomi’s story Meet Me at Our Spot. Which if you haven't read it, i highly recommend it!

For the record, I had a peach for breakfast. So get your head out of the gutter and re-read this, thinking of stone fruit not eggplants. 😜

But I guess this could be open for interpretation…

Thank you for the read!

social commentaryhumor
20

About the Creator

Donna Fox (HKB)

Thank you for stopping by!! 💚💙💜🩵

If you are interested in longer works by me, I have two books published on Amazon.

Jogger's Trail and Fox in The Hole.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (20)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson6 months ago

    Peachy!!! Loving your breakfast ode!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Real Poetic9 months ago

    Now I’m hungry for some fruit! Lovely ode!

  • Dean F. Hardy9 months ago

    You did this really well, Donna. And no, I will not come out of the gutter. ☘

  • Lamar Wiggins9 months ago

    Luscious and inviting is what I'll call this. Even if it was a peach lol. You could sell anything with the way you put together words. Very well done!!!

  • Hannah Moore9 months ago

    Could not skip past this title!

  • Naomi Gold9 months ago

    This is gorgeous writing! It’s like you combined the Sensational and Ode to Ordinary challenges and elevated a piece of fruit to a sensual experience. Which it actually is for me. I love peach season so much. 🍑 And I think all good poems have a double meaning, a continuous metaphor. Then people can choose which one speaks to them more.

  • Novel Allen9 months ago

    Well, I am disowning my second child. What happened to the angelic child that I raised. Well, I never. All the people below, shame on you all. Refund please, thank you Heaven. Naomi....

  • ema10 months ago

    Peaches or not, seems to be a great breakfast anyway 😂, congratulations for the imagination!

  • Rachel Deeming10 months ago

    It is...suggestive! But full of sensual imagery! Loved it!

  • Grz Colm10 months ago

    Lots of great sensory language! Good job. ☺️

  • Lol, shoulda known Naomi's story brought this on 🤣 I'll get my mind out of the gutter when you do, lol! I loved your 🍑 poem. Now it seems like you were talking about a different kinda peach 🤣🤣🤣🤣

  • Mark Gagnon10 months ago

    Time for a cold shower oh and breakfast. Yup, breakfast 🥞

  • ThatWriterWoman10 months ago

    How very juicy of you, Donna! Seriously though this is so well written with vivid imagery! I really felt all the senses you were writing about. Nicely done!

  • Rob Angeli10 months ago

    I have indeed read that wild little story! beautifully written and multifarious ode on your part. You make breakfast seem so naughty!

  • Wether a peach or the gutter this was amazing 🤩 you really nailed this I am awe struck simply blown away

  • Alexander McEvoy10 months ago

    That was a very good poem! If I wasn’t hungover it would have me hungry 😅 Definitely open to interpretation;) Simply marvellous!

  • Matthew Daniels10 months ago

    I like the Hobbit energy. Who's up for second breakfast? 😉

  • J. S. Wade10 months ago

    Nothing better than a succulent peach in the morning. Especially when the sweet juice squirts and drips off of my chin. Great way to start the day! Hahaha Great Ode, Donna.

  • Mackenzie Davis10 months ago

    LOL I love this! So clever, and full of vivid imagery. Great one, Donna 😜😂❤️

  • Mohammed Darasi10 months ago

    Nice double entendre throughout 🤣🤣 works perfectly though for either

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.