Poets logo

I Hate Goodbyes

A Poem

By Angel AdagioPublished 8 months ago 1 min read

Goodbyes are final. The first goodbye is so easy because there isn't the chance of knowing you won't see the person again. It's only when you realize it becomes the last one, that is where it becomes so painful.

Knowing someone enough where saying goodbye is so hard is beautiful, but cruel. I want to bottle them up and keep a piece of their existence with me at all times, so it doesn't hurt so much. Is that selfish?

Mourning someone in death is hard enough, but it seems like mourning the living kills more. Seeing someone move on without a second thought of what could've been, I envy the heartless. Is that selfish?

I've lost a lot in my short existence, but most are still around. Just not around me. Some never even said goodbye. I don't know if that was any better.

I don't want to say goodbye anymore, but it has become as easy as saying hello.

heartbreaksad poetry

About the Creator

Angel Adagio

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Manisha Dhalani8 months ago

    Hello is hard for me, goodbyes are difficult. I'm sorry for your loss!

Angel AdagioWritten by Angel Adagio

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.