Poets logo

I give myself over

Nature poem, inspiring...all that sorta thing. Yes, it's about rain...again. Sue me.

By Paul StewartPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
I give myself over
Photo by Rich Soul on Unsplash

I give myself over

I turn to the great above

To the waterfalls of the sky

As winter marches forward

And the downpour drenches

I and everything else

I feel renewed and refreshed

Even if the wind howls

As the temperature drops

The heavens open and calmness reigns

Over me, over you, over us

Over the world beneath

I outstretch my arms, still

And welcome

The majesty, the mystery and the power

*

Thanks for reading!

Author's Notes: Just another poem about me and the rain. Apologies, if necessary.

Thank you for your ongoing support, everyone.

Here are a few others to read and wonder about, if you have time and inclination:

You can also check out the rest of my work at my profile here.

performance poetrynature poetrylove poemsinspirational

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (11)

  • Angie the Archivist 📚🪶7 months ago

    I love the rain… captures how refreshing it is!

  • ThatWriterWoman7 months ago

    I love your winter positivity! Thanks for writing this Paul!

  • Grz Colm7 months ago

    Another rain poem? Awesome! ☺️👏 Definitely cleansing! Great work. Wish it rained more here! 😁

  • Zara Blume7 months ago

    Wow! I love everything about this, from the first line… ‘I give myself over’ a surrender to what is beyond our control—the rain. There’s no stopping rain, so we might as well embrace it as a gift. Then this ending: ‘The heavens open and calmness reigns Over me, over you, over us Over the world beneath I outstretch my arms, still And welcome The majesty, the mystery and the power’ That’s incredible. I love the use of reigns/rains and this imagery of it being calmness pouring from the heavens. There’s something so calming about the sound of raindrops, just like the sound of waves of the ocean, or the babbling of a brook. That’s something I’ve been thinking a lot about, but I won’t go on too much of a tangent here. You’ll see it in my Arid story. This reminded me of your poem about the ocean and riding the waves rather than fighting them. The ‘majesty, mystery and power’ is the most apt description of rain I’ve ever seen. Most take it for granted as a mundane aspect of life, or seen it as a hindrance to their outdoor plans. But we couldn’t survive without it. I love your reverence for it. As long as the skies still rain, we will be alright.

  • Lamar Wiggins7 months ago

    Loved the subtitle... we can never have too many poems about rain. Nicely done.

  • Dana Crandell7 months ago

    I almost missed this one! Fortunately, it popped up at the bottom of Sempiternal Sacrifice. Love the attitude in the subtitle, and you should use the last two words in it in place of any apology for what you write. Just keep pouring out these incredible words and setting that bar higher.

  • Sir Paul, I've told you before that you should never apologise for what you write! Loved your poem! 🍩🥐

  • I live in the Great Plains region. As long as the water isn't over our noses, we keep praying for more.

  • Hannah Moore7 months ago

    Ha ha! To be fair, the rain is a mighty fine muse.

  • Kristen Balyeat7 months ago

    Gorgeous! Gorgeous! Gorgeous! Now I’m refreshed. Thank you for the cleansing rain of words you just poured over us. 🌧️💞💫 Love your subtitle, btw! 😂

  • Mother Combs7 months ago

    💙

Paul StewartWritten by Paul Stewart

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.