Poets logo

Don't look to me

Poem...inspiration...some thoughts!

By Paul StewartPublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 1 min read
Don't look to me
Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

Don't look to me for all the answers

Don't look to me for the "right" way

Don't look to me for the easy pathway

The easy pathway to happy lined by chocolate coins and decadently sweet gummy bears and strawberry laces

Look to me for all the wrong answers

Look to me for the "wrong" way

Look to me for the hard pathway

The hard pathway to some semblence of happy lined by bitter dark chocolate and sour apples and pears

Don't blindly follow the blind

-

Don't look to me for all the answers

*

Thanks for reading!

performance poetrysocial commentaryinspirationalfact or fiction

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (10)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran8 months ago

    Omgggg this is so true!! I can barely give myself good advice. How can people think I can give them solid advice? My solution to everything involves murder in some way. Lol. Loved your poem! 🍩🥐

  • Mmmm, dark chocolate, sour apples & pears. Sounds like a wonderful afternoon repast. (Yeah, don't look to me either.)

  • Kristen Balyeat8 months ago

    It's only through the wrong way that we see the right. Walking a path of mishaps is certain for all of us. None of us have all the answers, much less all the right ones, especially for someone else's life, but we can still be an inspiration. And you, my friend, are an inspiration! Loved the imagery in this one. Wonderful job, pal!

  • Loved the imagery with the sweets and treats!

  • Zara Blume8 months ago

    Haha, I know what you were doing… saying that you don’t have all the answers despite how it might look to outsiders, with the inspirational words you offer up. But I found this incredibly inspirational. Because wisdom comes directly from examining one’s own mistakes. There’s no greater guide than someone who has already stumbled down the wrong path; someone willing to redirect others. You are absolutely someone to be looked to for answers. There’s no such thing as an easy path, just those too scared to venture forward—so they stay stagnant. And maybe it looks like their lives are comfortable, but a closer look shows they’re complacent. Love this poem, and the bitter dark chocolate, sour apples and pears life has to offer. 🤍

  • Mackenzie Davis8 months ago

    I feel this concept could easily turn into a series. “The blind leading the blind.” So much truth here! Don’t we all feel this way, deep down? I’d like to believe so. Leaves room for humility.

  • Dana Crandell8 months ago

    Hannah's made my reply for me, and you already knew it anyway. That said, if you happen to come across some strawberry laces, don't forget your old pal! Great job!

  • Mother Combs8 months ago

    great poem, Paul

  • Grz Colm8 months ago

    I like lollies.

  • Hannah Moore8 months ago

    Ach, often the hard answers are the right way. We must look to ourselves for what right looks like though.

Paul StewartWritten by Paul Stewart

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.