Poets logo

I did not, do not, and will never, ask for it

Sick of receiving unwanted attention

By Skye BothmaPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

Maybe some women do ask for it,

but I most certainly DO NOT.

In fact I DO EVERYTHING in my power NOT to ask for it.

I don't wear shorts or short skirts in public.

I don't wear tight-fitting or sleeveless tops in public.

I don't wear make up or do my hair provocatively.

I don't go to bars.

I don't go to nightclubs.

I don't go out at night.

And yet, despite everything I do, to not ask for it,

you still come at me with the unwanted attention unwanted overtures.

The 'fun' flirting and flattery, that I do not reciprocate and creeps me out.

The 'innocent' but lewd innuendo, that's just plain sleazy.

The 'friendly' hug that lasts too long or accidentally touches me the wrong way.

The lame excuses to come round and fix something knowing I'll be home alone.

The sad excuses that you need someone to chat to because you're lonely.

What makes you think that because I am single and female, YOU have the right overstep the line?

What makes you think that because I'm single for so long that the line no longer applies?

What makes you think that it's okay to make me feel uncomfortable and even fear for my safety because you can't stay on your side of the line?

What makes you think that being drunk or high makes it okay for you to harass me?

What makes you think that because I'm kind, caring and nice you can make advances on me that you wouldn't do towards a woman who would give you the slap in the face you deserve, the first step you make?

What makes you think that because I once asked for a neighbourly favour that gives you an open invitation to make advances on me?

What makes you think I'll find it endearing or flattering when you call me gorgeous and pretty when it's inappropriate?

What makes you think that because you are an 'old man' that your advances are harmless?

What makes you think that telling me you're lonely justifies your behaviour? Do you think it's okay to guilt me into feeling sorry for you so that I'll accept your advances?

What makes you think that because you see yourself as a nice good guy that your behaviour isn't offensive and harassment?

What makes you think that because I've been single for a long time, that I must be desperate for attention?

What makes you think that your urges override showing me common decency and respect?

What makes you think I have EVER asked for it?

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Skye Bothma

Skye is a freelance editor and writer living in rural New Zealand, where she writes about life, love and what it is to be human. She is also the author of one novel and working on her next book. Visit her website at www.skyebothma.nz

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.