Poets logo

I Blame You, Moon

And your parasitic darkness

By Teresa RentonPublished 10 days ago Updated 5 days ago 1 min read
13
I Blame You, Moon
Photo by Damon Hall on Unsplash

Empress of twilight and beyond, you’ve outstayed your welcome.

Come alone, I asked you, yet you brought the night–

libertine, fluid, and turbulent, swirling eddies through my voids, which were not for its blackness to fill. My silences were not your invitations.

I grapple for flickers, but hope for flames–antidotes to crumbling coals of an ebony pall. His face falls into a landscape I no longer recognize. Behind his eyes, a chalice of tears balances; equilibrium lost.

Plush rabbits, plump and soft like his skin, silky tags rubbed to threads; a 'remember this day from...' memory on my phone--him at five, fooling around--red bucket on his tousled hair remind me who he is. Who am I? A melancholy ache in unplayed beats rises from the corner where his drum kit gathers dust.

Sweeping the scattered powder of my atomized heart, I wonder, could my tears rehydrate it? If I can’t even touch your gauzy glow, what’s the point of you? Just leave! I’ll deal with me; because when he walks, oblivious, into the seduction of a night you reign over, I have no choice. I sculpt his history. I have to shine,

eclipse you.

*******

If you enjoyed reading my poem, perhaps you’d like to read another? 🤗

surreal poetrysad poetryFree VerseAcrostic
13

About the Creator

Teresa Renton

Inhaling life, exhaling stories, poetry, prose, flash or fusions. An imperfect perfectionist who writes and recycles words. I write because I love how it feels to make ink patterns & form words, like pictures, on a page.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Tiffany Gordon 3 days ago

    Phenomenally written! BRAVO!!

  • Gina C.5 days ago

    I love every line of this poem. ❤️ As I read it, I found myself wondering...how were these rare and odd words paired together so effortlessly and fluidly? Really marvekous work. There is so much depth and emotion here. ❤️

  • Cathy holmes5 days ago

    Girl, you sure have a way with words. This is outstanding.

  • Christy Munson5 days ago

    Your writing is beautiful, lyrical, and moving. Loved it!

  • Teresa, you did a great job with this. Your poem is an intriguing journey through the reaches of emotion, skillfully crafted with expressive imagery and poignant reflections. The way you confront the Empress of twilight with defiance and determination is empowering and inspiring. Each line is immersed with raw honesty and resilience, inviting readers to dig into our own battles with darkness and emerge with renewed strength. Wonderful work!!!

  • L.C. Schäfer8 days ago

    Poignant throughout, and ended perfectly 🥰

  • Brin J.9 days ago

    Each line I was thinking to myself, "wow, now that's poetry" until I got here: "Sweeping the scattered powder of my atomized heart, I wonder, could my tears rehydrate it?" I literally choked on a breath. It never ceases to amaze me how creative a person could be by just stringing a few words together. The way poets can capture complex thoughts and convey them with such simplicity, and so poignantly, is truly remarkable.

  • Oh wow, this was so poignant and emotional! Loved your Acrostic!

  • Paul Stewart9 days ago

    I should give up (I won't) but when I rread your poems, Teresa...honestly feel that way. That's as much a compliment as I can give. This is a showstopper. It feels so intimate...and yet so big and powerful...but so quiet, tender and so much aching through every word. Masterful. Like...round of applause, standing ovation worthy!

  • Rachel Deeming9 days ago

    Oh my. This is heartachingly beautiful. You have this way of pricking at the very essence of me. And such lovely expression. "Sweeping the scattered powder of my atomized heart" - what a line.

  • Babs Iverson10 days ago

    Superb!!! Love how you ended your acrostic poem!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Hannah Moore10 days ago

    Love that come alone line. It really says so much to me.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.