Poets logo

I Can't Write

{insert subtitle here}

By Brenton FPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - December 2023
37

i can’t write…

when i’m logged into vocal

i can’t write…

if i’m sleepy and tired

i can’t write…

with the tv on

• with the tv on

• with the tv on

{static}

i can’t write…

on the wrong side of wired

i can’t write…

to a schedule

• to a plan

i can’t write…

if i’ve just had a feed

or

on my second can

i can’t write…

on my phone in my bed

or

when it feels like i am dead

or

when the nonsense leaves my head

i can’t write…

a) if i know there is a background tab open

• b) if it’s a blank tab

• c) or deal with blank tabs

• d) bloody blank tabs

i can’t write…

when i’ve had too much to drink

• when i haven’t had enough

i can’t write…

if i’ve got a headache

or

in a room full of people all trying to get their noise into my ears

i can’t write…

if i’m dwelling on previously unresolved blank tab issues

i can’t write…

if i try to be funny

• if i’m on the dunny

• if it’s only mildly sunny

• if i’m being a bunny

• if i’m worried about money

i can’t write…

maybe because i don’t feel like it at the moment

?

list
37

About the Creator

Brenton F

It's just a token of my extreme - Frank Zappa

- - -

I have an eBook, a collection of my favourite pieces

Link to Amazon

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (27)

Sign in to comment
  • Jollyoddbod Poetry5 months ago

    Damn.. well, doesn't that speak for just about every creator here..... brilliant piece Brenton and congratulations on earning top story!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)5 months ago

    Well if that isn't relatable as a Creator then I don't know what is!!! Well said Brenton!!

  • The Dani Writer5 months ago

    Oh MY!!! Wowsers Brenton, that's AMAZING! Sending you some extra "Woo-hoos" and heartfelt congratulations for the top story!

  • Kendall Defoe 5 months ago

    I think I heard this song back in the eighties...🤔

  • Danielle Mosley5 months ago

    Very good. Here's mine https://vocal.media/authors/danielle-mosley-rrf0n40ghs

  • JBaz5 months ago

    Writers block what else i# there to say Congratulations

  • Grz Colm5 months ago

    Nice work on your top story Brenton! Have a good one!

  • Denise E Lindquist5 months ago

    Congratulations on Top Story🎉🎉🎉

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    Yes. That last line is exactly it. I've been feeling it myself. I'm glad you got this out though. Congrats on the TS.

  • Leslie Writes5 months ago

    Most relatable poem ever!

  • Daphsam5 months ago

    This was me today! Great poem!!

  • Mackenzie Davis5 months ago

    Gosh this sums me up today! Awesome form here. The chaotic structure to it, the surprising rhyme, all make it super inviting to read, and very vivid to imagine all the "wrong" circumstances. Good on you, turning the block into a worthy, fun poem. :D

  • Melissa Ingoldsby5 months ago

    ♥️♥️♥️😢 love this you captured the feeling so well

  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Fantastic!!! Agree with Dharrsheena. So relatable and entertaining!° Loved it!!!💕❤️❤️ Congratulations on Top Story!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Paul Stewart5 months ago

    Glad to see this on the front page...this awesome not writing exercise! Very relatable in many ways!

  • Dana Crandell5 months ago

    Great job of not writing!

  • K. Kocheryan5 months ago

    Strangely, my favorite part of this poem was the "{static}". I loved how you put this audio in my head while reading your poem.

  • So, what are you up to? 🥴. You’re in my alley friend, welcome you're on fire

  • Test5 months ago

    This is catchy.

  • Andrew C McDonald5 months ago

    I can’t write When my brain puts up a fight I can’t write when words blur in my sight But I can read Your every planted seed Sympathize with your stated need To your insanity still pay heed So.. Glad I am your words to read

  • Test5 months ago

    My brain is on vacation today. Words? What words?"

  • This certainly was very relatable! I'm at the mercy of Mr Brain so if he's bothered by any of those that you've mentioned, I can't write, lol

  • Manisha Dhalani5 months ago

    Haha, the nonsense never leaves my head! This is such a writer's dilemma, I swear. But if this is you not writing then wow, keep it up!

  • Hannah Moore5 months ago

    I'd add "I can't write...when conditions are too perfect" to a list like this!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.