Poets logo

I Can Be Scary Too

That'll Teach You

By Donna Fox (HKB)Published 10 days ago 1 min read
14
I Can Be Scary Too
Photo by Vasilina Sirotina on Unsplash

That little shit has messed with my garden for the last time. The way he wreaks havoc on my strawberry plants is a crime. I’ve had enough of watching him through the glass window. Sauntering around with his cassette while I wait for his sabotage to explode. He thinks my time and resources are so disposable. Well, I find his arrogance opposable. If I ever catch him in my garden again, I’ll be serving up my brand of sabotage. Then be tossing him in my disposable bin behind the garage. Maybe even bury him and cover it in a small patch of grass. Then admire his grave from behind my window’s glass. I’ll listen to his cassette while I tend to my plants of strawberry. After that, no one will doubt that I can be scary.

 

Author’s Note:

I thought I would try a prose-style poem for my first entry to Poppy’s Prompts - the April Edition.

A prose is a poem written in paragraph form that doesn’t have to follow any special type of rhyming scheme.

 

Thank you for reading,

Donna Fox (HKB)

Free VerseProsefact or fiction
14

About the Creator

Donna Fox (HKB)

Thank you for stopping by!! 💚💙💜🩵

If you are interested in longer works by me, I have two books published on Amazon.

Jogger's Trail and Fox in The Hole.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Poppy 3 days ago

    Hahaha this is iconic. That disposable bin line was extra funny. Well done with this!

  • L.C. Schäfer8 days ago

    I thought you were mad at a cat at first!

  • Mark Gagnon8 days ago

    At first, I thought it was an animal messing with your garden, then you mentioned cassette. Now I'm baffled which is nothing new. It's too early to plant a garden where you live, isn't it? Good story Donna!

  • JBaz9 days ago

    I am with you on this, the amount of work it takes to grow a successful garden just so some little shit can wreck it...... Great, love it

  • Brin J.9 days ago

    Yikes. Who would piss off a gardener? Someone who doesn't realize how many sharp tools are in their tool shed. Those violent intrusive thoughts sound like they're about to materialize.

  • Hehehehehehehehehe you know I'd always be more than happy to help you hide the body! I loved the way to made this rhyme although you didn't have to. And you used all five of those words not once but twice. Like that's so freaking awesomeeee! You nailed this challenge D! I loved it so much! 🥰🥰🥰🥰🥰

  • Grz Colm9 days ago

    👋Hey! I’ve not heard of this structure as such but seen a few people do it. I just figured they were free-styling! I like it. Forgive me but what is the cassette? I’d assumed it was an animal. . 😅

  • Cathy holmes10 days ago

    Oooh someone's pissed. At first I thought it was an animal burglar, but I don't imagine they'd be carrying around a cassette. Lol. Great poem. Your rhymes are spot on.

  • Caroline Craven10 days ago

    So good Donna!

  • Thavien Yliaster10 days ago

    Hhhmmmm...! Fresh fertilizer for the strawberries. They seem to be coming in extra plump and juicy this year for some inexplicable reason. Oh well, they're gonna go great on some short cakes. You know what they say, Donna, "ashes to ashes and dust to dust. We all get recycled back into the Earth. That's a law of nature we can always trust."

  • Alexander McEvoy10 days ago

    Love this prose poem, Donna! The POV is definitely a scary individual! And if I were her neighbour, I like to think I would see the madness in her eyes whenever we spoke. I like to think I'd know to keep my distance... but then I'm an oblivious gumba with a gold retriever personality, so I think if she chose to set a deadly trap, I'd fall right in lol. It was the line "I'll be serving up a brand of sabotage" that really got me. It's just such a frightening thing to say. This person doesn't think of themselves as doing anything even slightly reprehensible, only getting even. They don't even strike me as angry, simply determined to set right a wrong they feel they've been done. And that? That, my dear 'bertan friend, is truly scary.

  • I like this! Fantastic! I love scary! 🕶️🤓

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.