Poets logo

I can be me because of you.

A Sonnet

By Deborah RobinsonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
13
I can be me because of you.
Photo by Alex Iby on Unsplash

I am one of the lucky ones who found their 'other half'. Because of him, I can be me. I can be whole. So I wrote this sonnet.

My Love, you set me free to freely grow

As I untangle all my battered, sore

And frightened nerves, so bent and broken, so

Anxious, crooked, locked, but, oh no more!

You coax me out into the light to shed,

All the shadows, that old razored bite.

The crooked lies that squat inside my head.

Sneering, scoffing, but you hold me tight

And gently keep me heading for the sun

Of your true, open, honest, quirky ways.

My frightened soul is yours to keep, and none

Shall separate us, no. I bask in rays

Of your sweet face, your patience and your laugh.

My sun, my moon, my world, my other half.

love poems
13

About the Creator

Deborah Robinson

I'm new to the 'writing for real' scene. Previously, I've kept my poetry and writing under wraps in a fancy notebook, but now I've decided to give it a proper go!

I hope you enjoy my work.

Thanks, Deborah.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.