Poets logo

I Am The Dragon

And The Dragon Is Me

By L R CroftPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Like
I Am The Dragon
Photo by Alyzah K on Unsplash

I am the dragon.

The dragon is me.

I hoard people, and love, and joy, and pain.

I hoard sorrow, and memories, and jealousy, and rage.

I hoard grief and loss, suffering and anxiety.

I am terrifying, terrible, and beautiful.

I am a dark abyss on a sparkling, sunny day.

I will eat you whole, and I won't think twice.

I don't care who you are, or about your dreams.

I will devour you, but leave you looking alive, complete, and well.

You will have to explain and beg forgiveness for my cruelty.

I will make you lash out at those you love.

I will take your success and turn it all to ashes.

You will eat too much.

You won't eat at all.

You will sleep too much.

You will not sleep at all.

It will hurt to breathe.

It will hurt to live.

You will constantly remember every mistake.

You will relive every torment.

I love to watch you squirm.

I am strengthened by your tears.

No one can help you.

I will always be here.

I am inside you.

I will eat you alive, yet you will seem to be whole.

I am you.

I am the dragon.

The dragon is me.

We are one.

I am us three.

I hoard people.

I hoard misery.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

L R Croft

The most boring nomad you will ever meet. The most exciting nomad you will ever meet. I am neither. I am both. Find me on my socials here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.