Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Hunger

for Poppy's Prompts #6

By Christy MunsonPublished 19 days ago 1 min read
Hunger
Photo by engin akyurt on Unsplash

hunger curls round

fingers fingering an empty plate

I starve

clinging to the crumbled promise of you

what provocative air you envelope me in

can this be love, trust, respect?

you make clear

you'll give me nothing

but space

and rope

so long I've teetered on the edge

of a chair

kicking at the one leg

hope dangling

like a laboratory diamond

at the end of a long chain you've wrapped

gentle as a scarf

round my neck

you suffocate me

as I beg for another hit

of oxygen

you surround me

breathe me in

live to be

my greedy airborne pathogen

my fuel, my drug, my one and only

no autopsy could ever reveal

the true nature of your crimes

against my humanity

__________

Author's Notes: Written for Poppy's Challenge #6 and uses prompt words: Autopsy, Airborne, Clear, Rope, Curl

__________

Copyright © 06/07/2024 by Christy Munson. All rights reserved.

Stream of Consciousness

About the Creator

Christy Munson

My words expose what I find real and worth exploring.

Top Stories: 🥳

JUN | MAY | MAY | MAY | MAY

APR | APR | MAR | MAR | MAR

FEB | JUN

Unofficial Challenge Winners:

Ask Me in December | Story of Humanity | Strangely Art

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  5. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (19)

  • John Cox4 days ago

    The invisible crime. The psychological terrorist! The suicidal imagery superimposed the antagonists suffocating behavior increases the sense of desperation and hopelessness. Really well done, Christy!

  • Hannah Moore15 days ago

    Give me nothing but space and rope...brilliant.

  • Anna 17 days ago

    This was so intense, like a passion! You nailed it!! :)

  • John Cox18 days ago

    You get more mileage out of metaphors than just about anyone I read, Christy. This poem is tender, raw and desperate in equal measures. Simply stunning!

  • Poppy 18 days ago

    Oooohhhh. "I starve clinging to the crumbled promise of you" Wow wow wow. That is an incredible two lines! 'gentle as a scarf round my neck you suffocate me as I beg for another hit' WOW. This is so raw and powerful and heartbreaking. Your poem was breathtaking!

  • L.C. Schäfer18 days ago

    This is intense. I love "hope dangling" 😁

  • Whoaaaaa, this is a masterpiece!! So freaking mind-blowing! So intense and emotional! I loved it so much!

  • Caroline Craven19 days ago

    That was amazing. But absolutely awful at the same time. You smashed this one.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)19 days ago

    oooooo!! Christy your take on the challenge is a lot more appetizing to me!! I love how metaphoric it feels and the way you wove those words together so well!!! Nicely done!!

  • Matthew Fromm19 days ago

    ooo this is great Christy, visceral and impactful.

  • Cathy holmes19 days ago

    Whoa. That is amazing.

  • Babs Iverson19 days ago

    Impressively written!!! 💕❤️❤️

  • Novel Allen19 days ago

    Sounds perfectly narcissistic, the need for control while giving nothing only taking. Well said.

  • D.K. Shepard19 days ago

    Outstanding work, Christy! Great use of the prompt words, especially the lines and imagery with “rope”

  • Nice entry to the poppy's prompt. Well done!

  • Lamar Wiggins19 days ago

    Great use of the words, Christy. Your creativity is very adaptable. Keep going!!!

  • Wow! Such an excellent poem for these word prompts. Especially evocative is: ‘ you make clear you'll give me nothing but space and rope so long I've teetered on the edge of a chair kicking at the one leg hope dangling’✅

  • So well written

  • Excellent entry to this prompt

Christy MunsonWritten by Christy Munson

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.