Poets logo

How I Lost You

A Poem

By Angel AdagioPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
2
How I Lost You
Photo by Dyu - Ha on Unsplash

I was the latest collection,

the prized possession.

I was taken care of and loved like nothing existed before me.

Then there was an after,

something I was never prepared for.

I collected dust, my shine was no longer there, and I began to wither.

I was out of season.

So, you retired me from display and moved me to the back rooms where I could no longer be seen.

This new collection seemed to peak your interest for a much longer period than I could ever do.

I was of no more value.

I destroyed myself to make myself new for you,

but you never let me come out of the back rooms.

My soul died,

and you never knew.

love poemsheartbreak
2

About the Creator

Angel Adagio

Thank you for taking the time to read some of my work. It may not be perfect, but it's real. I hope you'll stay a while.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test3 months ago

    Loved it! keep up the good work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.