Poets logo

Hot

The lines of the story

By Frau GernPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
Hot
Photo by engin akyurt on Unsplash

I was hot once.

Second glances followed

me home

like puppies smelling

steak and cuddles.

Ripe melons perched

under my collar bone,

hips swaying like

a porch swing

under a willow tree.

Seriously.

I was hot.

I didn't meet stretch marks

until my 10-pound bundles

of joy

introduced us.

Then twins arrived

to strike the final deal,

signing my middle with

a flourish,

matching it to

a roadmap of Texas.

My husband ran

his hand across

my wrinkled stomach.

"You're hot"

he said.

He loves the lines

dancing over me.

To him

they tell the story

of us.

performance poetrylove poemsGratitudeFree Verse

About the Creator

Frau Gern

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Marilyn Davidian5 months ago

    Love this.

  • Christy Munson5 months ago

    Beautiful piece

Frau GernWritten by Frau Gern

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.