Poets logo

Homeward Bound

because I think Paul Simon really nailed it

By Lolly Paige LennoxPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
An Artist's Kitchen, 2015 (film), Lolly Paige

I hear the clock whisper

“Tick tock,

it’s getting late”

But me,

I’m a creature of the night

I tell it,

“I was born at eight”

The shift doth end

The people do leave

And I sweep with a smile

Because I know

No matter where they go

I only go a mile

I pick up my things

Tie my loose ends

And head right for the door

If you still got something left to say

I suggest you hold ‘til morning

My motorcade awaits

I pull off in the dark

Some days I like music

Sometimes my mind is stark

Silence often serves me better

On days like today

But whether I am

Mystified or misty-eyed

I always find my way

I slow down until I stop

Eager to pull in

Whether it’s a quiet night

Or a house all full of sin

Open the door to a wafting smell

Like giving time a hug

Kick off the shoes

Hang up the hats

Straighten out the rug

Collapse in dust that covers the couch

I breathe my moment deep

I laugh too loud

I dance around

Ignore my laundry heap

I close my eyes and open them

Spinning as the colors blend

Run up the stairs

Fall to my bed

What if I never lived here?

Where else could it be instead?

I spring to life a little

But not enough to move

I stare at my walls

And down the dark halls

Sometimes with medication

On top of alcohol

I hear things creeping by

I can’t help but giggle

What if the place is haunted?

I only mind a little

Times I want to be lonely

They tread on my toes

Times I shouldn’t be

Alone with me

They become heroes

Is the haunting of the house

Or the witch inside?

I always wondered

If I left

Would they ride or die?

I ponder, ponder everything

My mind it races fast

I do something

For my memories

Of a longing past

When it’s cold and

I don’t want to go out

But the cravings come

without a doubt

I lean out the window

Like when I was a kid

Sneaking cigarettes

Like the smell can be hid

Some have routines

But I do rituals

I do such things as though their visceral

I remember what I thought back then

And look for some odd book

But I give up

Because it’s too much

To see how much it took

Fighting for my life

Just wanting to belong

When all I needed was

The stuff I couldn’t see

I was simply much too young

Forget that

Move on

Wash it down the drain

I cleanse myself in steaming waters

It feels like tropic rain

When I am anew

I find something to wear

I slip into silks and velvets

I step on clouds

And this how

I show myself I care

I light incense

I roll a joint

And as I smoke

I review

What was right and how I’m wrong

Or maybe I write a song

I lay amongst pillows atop my bed

I raise my arm to hold my head

I adore the lights that twinkle above

I look around and see my love

I put it in every corner of every room

I fill it to the brim with my mood

I pass each doorway

With adventure in my steps

Always ready to go

Even though

When I am away

I always second guess

But if I could describe it at all

This would be my best:

Home is where the heart lands

When it freefalls into rest

A place where dreams can come to life

If only in the nest

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Lolly Paige Lennox

I am known for my gifts in Tarot and the dead, the Dead, being grateful and psychedelic and a little strange in the head. Sort of a beatnik, like a harlot, or a bard, and a sorcerer. Definitely a nerd.

Not a professional - Probably an expert

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.