Poets logo

Holy Cows!

Dream Journal Series - Soul Exchange

By CyCyPublished 9 months ago 4 min read
2
Cover/Logo is designed by me by using Canva Pro

Holy Cows!

Hermes, Greek Deity || Patron of travellers, merchants, thieves and rogues

Holy cows!

Crimson they were.

Grazing upon the richest pastures

Of Mount Olympus

How tasty could they be?

I’d like to know.

But heavily guarded they were

Beloved by Phoebus Apollo.

Cunning mind I have

With Entrepreneurship in mind!

Talent for the heist.

A taste for this mighty bounty.

Lure a cow or fifty.

Cover my tracks by cobbling the shoes together

And let it be seen that the cows drifted―

Wandered on their own,

Just to be finally “free.”

If you do question me,

The particular reason for my actions,

Then easily divulge my secrets to others,

I may just turn you into stone.

Like I did with this old man Battus,

Who certainly didn't understand the terms and conditions

About clientele confidentiality.

***Fin***

Note: Fun facts are right below

---

Hi, I'm CyCy!

Thank you for reading. I truly appreciate it!

This poem/musical score came to me sporadically. Imagine just hearing random words and/or thoughts but you have no idea where they belong to. 🤦‍♀️ For the past weeks, I've been riddled with random words for this poem whenever I am working on something else.

Thankfully, I was finally able to piece it together and I am no longer cursed hearing random things in my head.

So, I presented to you: A poem about Hermes (also, one of my favourites). Hope you enjoyed it.

Who is Hermes?

Cover/Logo is designed by me by using Canva Pro

Hermes holds a significant place as an Olympian deity in ancient Greek religion and mythology. He is revered as the divine messenger and herald of the gods. He also fulfills the role of a protector, watching over human heralds, travellers, thieves, merchants, and orators.

His winged sandals grant him the ability to effortlessly move between the mortal and divine worlds. Moreover, Hermes is recognized as the psychopomp, serving as a guide to lead souls into the afterlife.

Hermes, the herald and messenger of the gods, was a breath of fresh air on Mount Olympus. This friendly and likable young god became the patron not only of travellers and merchants but also of thieves and rogues.

Origin of Hermes:

Born to Zeus and Maia in a cave on Mount Cyllene, Hermes displayed incredible intelligence from the start. Within hours of birth, he had crafted the first lyre from a tortoise shell and taught himself to play.

His adventures began on the same day when he impulsively stole 50 cows from Apollo. With cunning and disguise, he outsmarted those who sought to catch him. One encounter led to the unfortunate transformation of an old man, Battus, into stone.

Hermes tried to hide his mischief from his mother, Maia. But she saw through his act and warned him of the gods' potential anger. Apollo eventually discovered the truth and accused Hermes of theft.

Zeus urged him to confess, and Hermes revealed the cows, having already divided the meat among the gods. He then humorously claimed himself as the twelfth god.

Thus, Hermes' mischievous yet clever nature delighted Zeus, and his escapades made him a beloved figure among the gods.

Shout out to one of my faves, Phoebus Apollo 🖤

Thanks for singing these poems, guiding me with composing music, and showing me different types of art.

A true bestie here. xo

Anyway, come check out my other surreal poem(s) as well:

  • I Heard You Calling My Name
I Heard You Calling My Name
The Problem with Immortality
Mighty She Is

Thank you for being a part of my journey and life. I truly appreciate you all!

---

More stuff from me:

Disclosure: Please note that if you choose to click on a link and make a purchase, I may receive cash compensation. Rest assured that I only recommend products that I personally find helpful or enjoyable, and that I believe may also be of interest to you. Click here to find out who I am currently partnered with and affiliated with.

Discover high-performance productivity and security tools with Microsoft 365. Follow the link to learn more.

Anyway, other than me fangirling about anime, books, comics, and shows/movies that I watch, I usually create darker content, whether art, video shorts, or stories. If this is something that you also enjoy, let's be friends :)

Speaking of anime, have you seen Cardcaptor Sakura yet?

Have you seen Cardcaptor Sakura yet?

If not, you're missing out! Click here to see my quick review of it.

Cardcaptor Sakura: Clear Card Sakura Kinomoto Prize Statue - ReRun

If you are also looking to build a website for your blogs, hobbies, store, or for anything at all, I recommend Bluehost.

Learn more about Bluehost

If you would like to learn more, read my article: Why Bluehost is Perfect for Novice Website Builders.

Why is Bluehost Perfect for Novice Website Builders

P.S. I would genuinely appreciate your support whether it would be subscribing, sharing this page with your friends, and/or leaving me a tip. If you also want updates on my latest releases, sign up for my newsletter here.

P.P.S. I also offer Beta-Reader services if you are a writer/author and need a Beta-Reader. Check out my Fiverr link here.

Fiverr Profile

humorsurreal poetryperformance poetryfact or fiction
2

About the Creator

CyCy

The Chaotic Creator | Writer, Poet, & Blogger | Multi-Genre | Beta-Reader

Fiverr: @cyrls_corner

Twitter: @cyrls_corner

Website: cyrlscorner.com

Sign up for my Newsletter & get updates on my latest posts by clicking here

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.